Florida to hold 06-07 reunion Sept. 10 vs. Kentucky


The back-to-back champs are coming back to Gainesville.

Florida will hold a reunion for its 2006-07 basketball national title teams the weekend of its home football game Sept. 10 against Kentucky. It will include an on-field salute of the team during the Florida-Kentucky game at Ben Hill Griffin Stadium/Spurrier Field.

Logistically, Florida had to hold the event during a football game because the majority of players are still playing professional basketball in the NBA and overseas. As a result, most of the team members are expected to attend the event, including Al Horford, Joakim Noah, Corey Brewer, Taurean Green, Lee Humphrey, Chris Richard and former coach Billy Donovan.

Another interesting sidenote,  Florida is holding the ceremony when it plays traditional basketball power Kentucky. The Gators went 5-0 against the Wildcats during the 2006-07 seasons.

As a I wrote last April, on the 10-year anniversary of UF’s first basketball title, those Gators remain the most underappreciated great team in college basketball history. Florida is the only team this century to win back-to-back national titles. The last team to do it before Florida was Duke in 1991-92.

Other notes:

— Florida unveiled its uniform numbers for the 2015-16 season. Of note, junior forward Devin Robinson is switching from No. 3 to No. 1, Justin Leon from No. 24 to No. 23, Keith Stone from No. 23 to No. 25 and KeVaughn Allen from No. 4 to No. 5. As for the newcomers, Eric Hester will wear No. 2, Dontay Bassett will wear No. 21, Gorjok Gak will wear No. 12, Jalen Hudson will wear No. 3 and Canyon Barry will wear No. 24. Barry’s father, Basketball Hall of Famer Rick Barry, wore No. 24 throughout his career.