Eight Gators on SEC honor roll


Florida was a cerebral team throughout its 2014 run to its fifth Final Four in school history.

That showed up in the classroom.

Led by Southeastern Conference scholar athlete of the year Patric Young, eight Gator basketball players made the SEC academic honor roll on Friday.

The list included Young, Florida senior forward Will Yeguete, sophomore guard Michael Frazier, sophomore forward Dorian Finney-Smith, junior walk-on guard Billy Donovan, junior walk-on guard/forward Jacob Kurtz, sophomore guard Dillon Graham and sophomore forward DeVon Walker.

Florida’s eight men’s basketball players on the honor are more than any other SEC school. The Gators finished 36-3 overall and went a perfect 21-0 in SEC play.