Horford named first-team All-SEC


Horford named first-team, All-SEC

Sun sports writer

Florida junior center Al Horford was named to the Associated Press’s All-Southeastern Conference first team released this afternoon.
Junior Florida forwards Joakim Noah and Corey Brewer were second-team selections. Point guard Taurean Green earned honorable mention honors.
Horford ended the regular season leading Florida in scoring (13.1), rebounding (8.9) and blocked shots (56). Horford is third in the SEC in rebounding and has posted 13 double-doubles this season.
Noah is averaging 12.2 points and 8.1 rebounds this season. Brewer is averaging 12.5 points with a team-high 56 steals.
Tennessee guard Chris Lofton was named SEC player of the year, barely edging out Vanderbilt forward Derrick Byards. Ole Miss first-year coach Andy Kennedy was named coach of the year. Arkansas freshman Patrick Beverley was named SEC newcomer of the year.

|By The Associated Press|
The 2006 Associated Press All-Southeastern Conference men’s
basketball team released Tuesday, with name, school, position,
height and class:
Derrick Byars, Vanderbilt, G-F, 6-7, Sr.
Al Horford, Florida, F-C, 6-10, Jr.
Chris Lofton, Tennessee, G, 6-2, Jr.
Glen Davis, LSU, F, 6-9, Jr.
Tre’ Kelley, South Carolina, G, 6-0, Sr.|
Richard Hendrix, Alabama, F, 6-8, So.
Jamont Gordon, Mississippi State, G-F, 6-4, So.
Joakim Noah, Florida, F-C, 6-11, Jr.
Corey Brewer, Florida, F, 6-9, Jr.
Clarence Sanders, Mississippi, G, 6-1, Sr.|
Todd Abernethy, Mississippi, G, 6-1, Sr.; Jermareo Davidson,
Alabama, F, 6-10, Sr.; Shan Foster, Vanderbilt, G-F, 6-6, Jr.;
Sundiata Gaines, Georgia, G, 6-1, Jr.; Taurean Green, Florida, G,
6-0, Jr.; Randolph Morris, Kentucky, F-C, 6-11, Jr.; Brandon
Wallace, South Carolina, F, 6-9, Sr.