How many championships has OU softball won? Sooners add to their WCWS tally

View Comments

Were the 2022 Oklahoma Sooners the greatest team in NCAA softball history?

They'll certainly be the short list of contenders.

Coach Patty Gasso won her sixth Women's College World Series on Thursday night with a 10-5 win against Texas at USA Softball Hall of Fame Stadium.

Kinzie Hansen and Grace Lyons homered in a game that once again showcased OU's crushing depth.

The Sooners (59-3) led the country in batting average (.370), ERA (0.97) and a slew of other stats.

Get to know the Sooners' six national championship teams:

Carlson:How Patty Gasso built a softball powerhouse, changed OU athletics 50 years after Title IX

2000 Sooners

It was a breakthrough championship for a sport that had long been domination by the likes of UCLA and Arizona. The Sooners became just the second school not from the West Coast, joining 1983 and 1987 champion Texas A&M, to win the title.

Jenni Stewart won all four games in the WCWS for the Sooners, giving OU (66-8) its first national championship in a women's sport.

The third-seeded Sooners beat UCLA 3-1 for the 2000 national title.

More:How 'Nanny Johns' became life of party for OU softball fans at WCWS. 'This team is loved.'

2013 Sooners

The Sooners rode the arm of left-handed ace Keilani Ricketts to win their second national title, sweeping Tennessee in the championship series.

OU (57-4) outscored its opponents by 405 runs on the season. 

'To meet them here is insane':How Hope Trautwein went from Texas fan to OU softball ace?

2016 Sooners

Ace Paige Parker wrapped up a 38-3 season with a 2-1 win over Auburn in Game 3 of the championship series to deliver OU (57-8) its third national title.

Tom Brady DMs, HR records & a fan frenzy:How OU's Jocelyn Alo became softball's Babe Ruth

2017 Sooners

Tournament Most Outstanding Player Shay Knighten drove in three runs and 10th-seeded OU beat top-seeded Florida 5-4 in Game 2 to close out a two-game sweep in the championship series.

Want to know the impact of Title IX?:Look no further than the WCWS & softball in Oklahoma

2021 Sooners

Jocelyn Alo helped set the tone in Game 3 with a first-inning home run and Juarez handled things from there in a 5-1 win against Florida State.

Juarez posted a 0.89 ERA in 31 ⅓ innings pitched in Oklahoma City.

Carlson:OU football coach Brent Venables blown away by Jocelyn Alo, Sooners. 'Like a nuclear bomb.'

2022 Sooners

OU's run to a sixth NCAA championship was its most dominant. The Sooners won 40 games by run rule, a program record.

In the WCWS championship series, the Sooners routed rival Texas 16-1 in Game 1 and 10-5 in Game 2.

All-time NCAA home run queen Jocelyn Alo hit five home runs with 13 RBIs in the WCWS. Tiare Jennings had five home runs and a WCWS-record 15 RBIs.

Previous NCAA softball champions

2021: Oklahoma (56-4)

2020: Canceled due to pandemic

2019: UCLA (56-6)

2018: Florida State (58-12)

2017: Oklahoma (61-9)

2016: Oklahoma (57-8)

2015: Florida (60-7)

2014: Florida (55-12)

2013: Oklahoma (57-4)

2012: Alabama (60-8)

2011: Arizona State (60-6)

2010: UCLA (50-14-1)

2009: Washington (51-12)

2008: Arizona State (66-5)

2007: Arizona (50-14-1)

2006: Arizona (54-11)

2005: Michigan (65-7)

2004: UCLA (47-9)

2003: UCLA (54-7)

2002: California (56-19)

2001: Arizona (65-4)

2000: Oklahoma (66-8)

1999: UCLA (63-6)

1998: Fresno State (52-11)

1997: Arizona State (61-5)

1996: Arizona (58-9)

1995: UCLA (50-6)

1994: Arizona (64-3)

1993: Arizona (44-8)

1992: UCLA (54-2)

1991: Arizona (56-16)

1990: UCLA (62-7)

1989: UCLA (48-4)

1988: UCLA (53-8)

1987: Texas A&M (56-8)

1986: Cal State Fullerton (57-9-1)

1985: UCLA (41-9)

1984: UCLA (45-6-1)

1983: Texas A&M (41-11)

1982: UCLA (33-7-2) 

The Associated Press contributed to this report.

View Comments