Media poll: Florida picked second in SEC Eastern Division

Special to

HOOVER Ala. — Florida was picked to finish second in the SEC Eastern Division in the media's annual preseason football poll.

Florida received 784 points, including seven first-place votes, while Georgia was selected as the division favorite with a total of 923 points and 124 first-place votes. Kentucky was third with 624 points. Points were awarded on a 7-6-5-4-3-2-1 scale.

Last season the Gators defeated the Bulldogs at TIAA Bank Field 44-28 en route to an 8-2 record in conference play and a trip to the SEC Championship Game. 

Alabama was picked to win the SEC behind 84 first place votes. The Tide were also picked to win the Western Division with 932 total points, followed by Texas A&M with 760 and LSU with 633. Alabama received 130 first-place votes in the SEC West. 

Eight times since 1992 has the predicted champion prior to the season proceeded to win the SEC Championship Game.


Georgia (124 first-place votes), 923

Florida (7), 784

Kentucky (2), 624

Missouri, 555

Tennessee, 362

South Carolina (1), 355

Vanderbilt, 149


Alabama (130), 932

Texas A&M (1), 760

LSU (1), 633

Ole Miss (1), 529

Auburn, 440

Arkansas (1), 241

Mississippi State, 217


Alabama (84), 84

Georgia (45), 45

Ole Miss (1), 1

Texas A&M (1), 1

Florida (1), 1

Kentucky (1), 1

South Carolina (1)

UF places 4 on Preseason All-SEC List

Florida's first-team members were redshirt senior defensive lineman Zachary Carter and junior defensive back Kaiir Elam along with Ventrell Miller earning second-team recognition. Jacob Copeland rounds out the honors with a spot on the third-team.

The Tide also led the way with 16 players making the preseason All-SEC teams, with six of the team's eight predicted first-teamers playing on defense.

Georgia and Auburn had 10 preseason All-SEC picks and Texas A&M had seven.




QB –  Matt Corral, Ole Miss

RB -  Tank Bigsby, Auburn

RB –  Isaiah Spiller, Texas A&M

WR -  John Metchie III, Alabama

WR -  Treylon Burks, Arkansas

TE -  Jalen Wydermyer, Texas A&M

OL -  Evan Neal, Alabama

OL -  Darian Kinnard, Kentucky

OL -  Kenyon Green, Texas A&M

OL -  Cade Mays, Tennessee

C -  Nick Brahms,  Auburn


QB –  JT Daniels, Georgia

RB -  Kevin Harris, South Carolina

RB -  Zamir White, Georgia

WR -  Kayshon Boutte, LSU

WR -  George Pickens, Georgia

TE -  Jahleel Billingsley, Alabama

OL -  Jamaree Salyer, Georgia

OL -  Emil Ekiyor Jr., Alabama

OL -  Ed Ingram, LSU

OL -  Austin Deculus, LSU

C -  Ricky Stromberg, Arkansas


QB –  Bo Nix, Auburn

RB -  Brian Robinson Jr., Alabama

RB -  Chris Rodriguez Jr., Kentucky

WR -  Ainias Smith, Texas A&M

WR -  Jacob Copeland, Florida

TE -  Nick Muse, South Carolina

OL -  Charles Cross, Mississippi State

OL -  Nick Broeker, Ole Miss

OL -  Myron Cunningham, Arkansas

OL -  Luke Fortner, Kentucky

*C -  Michael Maietti, Missouri

*C - Ben Brown, Ole Miss

DL -  Jordan Davis, Georgia

DL -  Phidarian Mathis, Alabama

DL -  Kingsley Enagbare, South Carolina

*DL -  Zachary Carter, Florida

*DL - DeMarvin Leal, Texas A&M

LB -  Henry To'o To'o, Alabama

LB -  Christian Harris, Alabama

LB -  Will Anderson Jr., Alabama

DB -  Derek Stingley, LSU

DB -  Josh Jobe, Alabama

DB -  Malachi Moore, Alabama

DB -  Kaiir Elam, Florida

DL -  Josh Paschal, Kentucky

DL -  LaBryan Ray, Alabama

DL -  Ali Gaye, LSU

DL -  Trajan Jeffcoat, Missouri

LB -  Grant Morgan, Arkansas

LB -  Ventrell Miller, Florida

LB -  Zakoby McClain, Auburn

DB -  Smoke Monday, Auburn

DB -  Jordan Battle, Alabama

DB -  Jalen Catalon, Arkansas

DB -  Elias Ricks, LSU

DL  - DJ Dale, Alabama

DL - Jayden Peevy, Texas A&M

DL -  Travon Walker, Georgia

DL -  Derick Hall, Auburn

LB -  Owen Pappoe, Auburn

LB -  Nakobe Dean, Georgia

LB -  Christopher Allen, Alabama

DB -  Roger McCreary, Auburn

DB -  Lewis Cine, Georgia

DB -  Alontae Taylor, Tennessee

DB -  Yusuf Corker, Kentucky



P -  Jake Camarda, Georgia

PK - Cade York, LSU

RS  - Jerrion Ealy, Ole Miss

AP -  Jerrion Ealy, Ole Miss

P -  Paxton Brooks, Tennessee

PK - Will Reichard, Alabama

RS -  Ainias Smith, Texas A&M

AP -  Tank Bigsby, Auburn

P -  Mac Brown, Ole Miss

PK -  Anders Carlson, Auburn

RS -  Kearis Jackson, Georgia

AP - Ainias Smith, Texas A&M

* - Indicates a tie