Florida’s Lindaman named Academic All-America of Year

Florida's Kendyl Lindaman with another home run. (AP Photo/Gary McCullough/File)

Special to Gatorsports.com

AUSTIN, Texas — Kendyl Lindaman became Florida softball’s latest player to receive College Sports Information Directors of America Academic All-America of the Year. CoSIDA announced the award along with their Academic All-American teams for the sport Thursday.

Lindaman is now the third player in program history to be honored as the sport’s Academic All-America of the Year as she joins former pitchers Stacey Nelson (2009) and Kelly Barnhill (2018).

Overall, the Ankeny, Iowa native is the 14th UF student-athlete to earn the prestigious accolade.

“I’m proud of the way Kendyl has been able to consistently achieve success at an elite level, both as a student and athlete.” UF coach Tim Walton said. “A lot of hard work goes into being able to achieve that level of success and the balance she has able to achieve as a student-athlete is a prime example of the standard we strive to achieve as a program with all of our student-athletes.”

Lindaman graduated Cum Laude this past May with her bachelor’s in Educational Sciences and will now pursue a master’s degree in Sport Management as she enters her final year as a player.

“I am deeply honored to be named the CoSIDA Academic All-America of the Year in softball.” Lindaman said. “As a student-athlete I strive for success on the field, but I have always placed academics as my top priority. I am grateful to the University of Florida for giving me the opportunity to have success at the highest level, both in the classroom and on the field.”

As a program, Florida softball has now produced 14 players who have received 22 Academic All-American accolades – which leads all UF athletic programs. During Walton’s tenure at the helm, 11 players have earned 19 Academic All-American honors.

Florida – Google Cloud Academic All-America of Year

Year Name Sport Selection Team
2020 Kendyl Lindaman Softball Softball 1st*
2018 Kelly Barnhill Softball Softball 1st*
2017 Canyon Barry Basketball Basketball 1st*
2013 Elizabeth Beisel Swimming Women’s At-Large 1st*
2011 Kristy Jaeckel Volleyball Volleyball 1st*
2009 Tim Tebow Football Football 1st *
2009 Stacey Nelson Softball Softball 1st *
2008 Tim Tebow Football Football 1st *
2003 Matt Bonner Basketball Basketball 1st*
2002 Matt Bonner Basketball Basketball 1st*
2001 Andi Sellers Soccer Soccer 1st*
1999 Erin Baxter Soccer Women’s At-Large 1st*
1996 Danny Wuerffel Football Football 1st*
1995 Danny Wuerffel Football Football 1st*

The Southeastern Conference has produced 13 Academic All-America of Year recipients from softball since 1997 and has claimed the award for the eighth consecutive year.

Google Cloud Academic All-America of Year (since 1997)

Year Name School Position
2020 Kendyl Lindaman Florida Catcher
2019 Bailey Hemphill Alabama Designated Player
2018 Kelly Barnhill Florida Pitcher
2017 Kasey Cooper Auburn Outfielder
2016 Haylie McCleney Alabama Outfielder
2015 Haylie McCleney Alabama Outfielder
2014 Ellen Renfroe Tennessee Pitcher
2013 Raven Chavanne Tennessee Infield
2012 Ashley Brignac Louisiana-Lafayette Pitcher
2011 Ashley Brignac Louisiana-Lafayette Pitcher
2010 Chelsea Bramlett Mississippi State Catcher
2009 Stacey Nelson Florida Pitcher
2008 Angela Tincher Virginia Tech Pitcher
2007 Lindsay Schutzler Tennessee Outfield
2006 Lindsay Schutzler Tennessee Outfield
2005 Megan Meyer Seton Hall Pitcher
2004 Kate Jaspers Mississippi State Infield
2003 Brandi Cross Massachusetts Infield
2002 Jarrah Myers Notre Dame Catcher
2001 Sara Carlson Villanova Outfield
2000 Lana Moran Oklahoma Pitcher
1999 Isonette Polonius East Carolina Infield
1998 Nancy Evans Arizona Pitcher
1997 Leah O’Brien Arizona Infield