Gators earn multiple SEC softball awards

Florida's Amanda Lorenz. [Lauren Bacho/Gainesville Sun/File]

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – Florida helped fill the Southeastern Conference annual softball awards for the 2019 season Tuesday. The Gators picked up five different awards including two All-SEC First Team selections.

Senior Amanda Lorenz made program history as she became the first UF player to be selected as a four-time All-SEC First Team member. She is also only the eighth overall player in SEC history to achieve the feat and only the second in conference history to earn the awards as an outfielder and an infielder.

Lorenz has split time between her usual outfield position and made a transition to playing first base for the Gators just this season. The Moorpark, Calif. native excelled defensively and also garnered a spot on the SEC All-Defensive Team.

Joining Lorenz on the All-SEC First Team is junior Kendyl Lindaman, while senior pitcher Kelly Barnhill brought home All-SEC Second Team accolades and freshman hurler Elizabeth Hightower was named to the All-SEC Freshman squad.

“This group continuously puts a tremendous amount of effort into being the best at their position.” Tim Walton said. “The SEC is filled with great players who strive to do the exact same thing, but I’m thankful that the rest of the league noticed how special Amanda, Kendyl, Kelly and Elizabeth have been this SEC regular season.”

The six seed Gators (40-15) opens SEC tourney play at 1:30 p.m. Wednesday against
No. 11 seed South Carolina (36-16). The SEC Network will have television coverage.

Player of the Year: Abbey Cheek, Kentucky

Pitcher of the Year: Sarah Cornell, Alabama

Freshman of the Year: Montana Fouts, Alabama

Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Katie Reed, Kentucky

Coach of the Year: Patrick Murphy, Alabama