UF’s O’Sullivan adds another coach of year honor

O'Sullivan celebration
Kevin O'Sullivan, the Florida baseball head coach, pumps his fist for fans during a celebration of the Gators 2017 NCAA College World Series National Championship held at McKethan Stadium on June 28. [Brad McClenny/Staff photographer]

LUBBOCK, Texas — Florida’s Kevin O’Sullivan turned a triple play Wednesday as far as coaching honors are concerned.
O’Sullivan, who led the Gators to their first national title in baseball at the College World Series in June, was named the Skip Bertman National Coach of the Year, the National College Baseball Hall of Fame announced.
Earlier this summer, O’Sullivan was named the National Coach of The Year by both Collegiate Baseball and D1baseball.com. It is the second time that he has won a Coach of the Year honor after being named the 2011 National Coach of the Year by Baseball America.
“Kevin O’Sullivan’s club showed both heart and perseverance in bringing the school its first national championship,” said Mike Gustafson, president and CEO of the National College Baseball Hall of Fame and chair of the Bertman Award committee. “We’re honored to present this award to coach O’Sullivan for this tremendous accomplishment.”
The Gators finished 52-19 overall, sweeping Southeastern Conference rival LSU in the CWS finals. It marks the third straight 50-win season for the Gators and fourth since O’Sullivan took over prior to the 2008 season.
It also was Florida’s third straight College World Series appearance, all as a national seed, and second appearance in the CWS finals under O’Sullivan. The Gators have also captured three SEC titles under O’Sullivan and were the SEC East champion in 2017.