Two former UF coaches named to baseball hall of fame

Pat McMahon, Andy Lopez
Former UF baseball coach Pat McMahon was named to the ABCA Hall of Fame on Tuesday. [file]

INDIANAPOLIS — Two former University of Florida head coaches were selected to the 2018 American Baseball Coaches Association Hall of Fame.
Pat McMahon and Andy Lopez were part of the class announced Tuesday.
McMahon coached the Gators from 2002-2007 and compiled a 202–113 record with four NCAA Regional appearances, two Super Regionals and one College World Series, where UF finished runner-up to Texas. UF also won the 2005 SEC Championship. He was fired after the 2007 season when UF went 29-30 following a 28-28 finish in 2006.
McMahon joined the New York Yankees organization soon after.
Lopez coached the Gators for seven seasons (1995-2001) and compiled a 278-159-1 record, with five trips to the NCAA Tournament and two College World Series.
Lopez, who led Pepperdine to a CWS title in 1992, led Arizona to the national championship in 2012. He retired after the 2015 season.
The 11-man class was announced Tuesday. Also being inducted are: Ed Blankmeyer, St. John’s University; Hill Denson, Belhaven University; Don Freeman, Prairie (Wash.) High School; Jim Gilligan, Lamar University; Tim Hill, Sr., State College of Florida; Bobby Howard, Columbus (Ga.) High School; Stan Luketich, Desert Vista (Ariz.) High School; Frank Permuy, Gaither (Fla.) High School; and John Schaly, Ashland University.
The induction will be held Jan. 5, 2018, at the organization’s convention in Indianapolis.