Roundup: No. 6 Florida faces No. 4 Florida State in softball showdown

Florida softball coach Tim Walton at Katie Seashole Pressly Stadium. [Cyndi Chambers/Gainesville Sun Correspondent]

The No. 6 Florida softball team travels to Tallahassee to take on No. 4 Florida State for a 7 p.m. game today in the second installment of the Fresh from Florida Sunshine Showdown at JoAnne Graff Field.

The Gators (36-9) have won their last seven contests while the Seminoles (38-7) have only won two of their last six games.

Florida dropped the first game, 2-0, of the Sunshine Showdown on April 3 at Katie Seashole Pressly Stadium. The Seminoles scored their runs via a sac fly in the first by Elizabeth Mason and a solo home run in the fourth from Makinzy Herzog. Kendyl Lindaman went 2 for 3 at the plate for the Gators, while Kelly Barnhill went the distance in the circle.

ESPNEWS is scheduled for TV coverage.


Gators begin SEC tournament play

The Florida women’s golf team begins postseason play today in Birmingham, Alabama, for the SEC Championships.

The Gators are the No. 4 team in the conference, behind Vanderbilt (1), Arkansas (2), and Tennessee (3). They last won the SEC title in 2017, with one current Gator from that squad, junior Marta Perez. The team returns four players from last year’s conference squad, Perez, junior Sierra Brooks, and sophomores Elin Esborn and Addie Baggarly. The fifth player in the lineup this year will be freshman Clara Manzalini.

Florida finished the 2018-19 season ranked No. 9 in the country and with two team titles, two individual titles, and seven top-five finishes.

The championship will take place at the Legacy Course of Greystone Golf and Country Club, a private, 36-hole golf club located just outside Birmingham in the suburb of Hoover. The Legacy course is par 72 and 6,253 yards.

They will be played over the course of five days. The first three days, today-Friday, will be three rounds of stroke play where the top eight teams at the conclusion will advance to match play Saturday and Sunday. All eight teams will play the quarterfinals matches Saturday and the four winning teams will advance to the semifinals and championship matches Sunday.