UF’s Holloway, Froeynes collect SEC Indoor Track and Field honors

Florida's Grant Holloway celebrates after realizing that the team had won the men's team championship on the third day of the NCAA outdoor college track and field championships in Eugene, Ore., Friday, June 9, 2017. (AP Photo/Timothy J. Gonzalez)

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – Florida sophomore hurdler, jumper and sprinter Grant Holloway was voted SEC Men’s Indoor Runner of the Year, the league announced Wednesday.

UF pentathlete Amanda Froeynes garnered SEC Women’s Co-Freshman Indoor Field Athlete of the Year honors.

Holloway is the third Gator in history to collect the award, first distributed in 2004, joining indoor 400 meters world record holder and 2016 Olympic 400-meter hurdles gold medalist Kerron Clement (2005), and 2016 Olympic 4×400 relay gold medalist Arman Hall (2014) as the only other Gators to win it. Like Holloway, both were sophomores when they won the award.

Froeynes joined two-time IAAF World Championships long jump medalist Shara Proctor (2007) as the only other Gator in history to be the conference’s top female freshman field athlete. Froeynes won the bronze at the SEC Indoor Championships and is one of two freshmen qualify for NCAA Indoor Championships pentathlon.

Holloway shaved three hundredths of a second off Omar McLeod’s collegiate 60-meter hurdles record (7.42) last month, joining American record holder, 7-time world champion and 1996 Olympic gold medalist Allen Johnson as the only other man in indoor track and field history to break 7.45 seconds and long jump at least 8.00 meters. Though his best long jump mark this year is only 7.97 meters (26 feet, 1.75 inches), Holloway jumped 8.05 meters (26 feet, 4.75 inches) last season.

Holloway is coming off his second consecutive SEC Indoor Championships 60 hurdles title. The Chesapeake, Va., native also anchored the Gators’ 4×400 relay to a runner-up finish and fifth-fastest time in collegiate history, and he took fourth in the long jump.

Below is a list of Florida’s All-SEC honorees. Gold medalists at SEC Indoors are All-SEC First Team selections, silver and bronze medalists garner All-SEC Second Team accolades, and SEC All-Freshman plaudits are awarded to the top freshman finisher of each event.

Froeynes, Holloway and the Gators wrap up their indoor season at this weekend’s NCAA Championships, which will be held in College Station, Texas.

All-SEC First Team

Clayton Brown – Triple Jump

Lloydricia Cameron – Shot Put

Grant Holloway – 60-meter Hurdles

All-SEC Second Team

Sharrika Barnett – 400 meters (bronze)

KeAndre Bates – Triple Jump (bronze)

Yanis David – Triple Jump (silver)

Amanda Froeynes – Pentathlon (bronze)

AJ McFarland – Weight Throw (bronze)

Darrielle McQueen – Long Jump (bronze)

Benjamin Lobo Vedel, Kunle Fasasi, Chantz Sawyers, Grant Holloway – 4×400 relay (silver)

SEC All-Freshman

Amanda Froeynes – Pentathlon

Thomas Mardal – Weight Throw

Hakim Sani Brown – 60 meters