Gators in NFL: Robinson adds to UF’s Super Bowl roll

Kansas City Chiefs wide receiver Demarcus Robinson (11) celebrates after running back Damien Williams (26) scored a touchdown during the second half of Super Bowl 54 against San Francisco on Sunday in Miami Gardens. The Kansas City Chiefs won 31-20. (AP Photo/Steve Luciano)

Kansas City’s win over San Francisco on Sunday is the 23rd time overall, and the eighth time in the last nine years, that a Gator is on the winning team of a Super Bowl, with former UF wide receiver Demarcus Robinson being part of the NFL title.

Robinson, who was selected by Kansas City in the fourth round (126th overall) of the 2016 NFL Draft, appeared in 32 games from 2013-15 with the Gators. The Fort Valley, Ga., native finished his collegiate career with 106 receptions for 1,355 receiving yards (12.8 avg.) and nine touchdowns.

Florida has had a former player on a Super Bowl roster for 18 straight years, dating back to the 2003 season when offensive linemen Kenyatta Walker and Lomas Brown helped the Tampa Bay Buccaneers beat Mo Collins and the Oakland Raiders in Super Bowl XXXVII. That 18-year streak stands as the second longest of its kind in the SEC, as Georgia and LSU are tied for the longest streak at 19 years.

Overall, there have been 58 former Gators make 76 appearances in Super Bowl history, with a former UF player on the winning team 23 times.

In addition to Robinson and Harris, former Florida defensive back Teez Tabor and wide receiver Chris Thompson will also play a role during Super Bowl LIV. The two former Gators currently compete in San Francisco’s practice squad.

Super Bowl I (1967)

Green Bay: Don Chandler (P)

Super Bowl II (1968)

Green Bay: Don Chandler (P)

Super Bowl X (1976)

Dallas: Burton Lawless* (G)

Super Bowl XII(1978)

Dallas: Larry Brinson (RB), Burton Lawless (G)

Super Bowl XIII (1979)

Dallas: Larry Brinson (RB), Burton Lawless (G)

Super Bowl XIV (1980)

Los Angeles Rams: Jack Youngblood* (DE)

Super Bowl XVI (1982)

Cincinnati: Glenn Cameron* (LB), Cris Collinsworth* (WR)

Super Bowl XVII (1983)

Miami: Nat Moore (WR)

Super Bowl XIX (1985)

Miami: Nat Moore (WR)

Super Bowl XX (1986)

Chicago: Wilber Marshall* (LB)

Super Bowl XXI (1987)

Denver: Tony Lilly (FS), Ricky Nattiel (WR)

Super Bowl XXII (1988)

Denver: Tony Lilly* (FS), Ricky Nattiel* (WR)

Super Bowl XXIII (1989)

Cincinnati: Cris Collinsworth (WR)

Super Bowl XXVI (1992)

Washington: Wilber Marshall* (LB)

Super Bowl XXVII (1993)

Dallas: Emmitt Smith* (RB), Godfrey Myles (LB)

Super Bowl XXVIII (1994)

Dallas: Emmitt Smith* (RB), Godfrey Myles (LB)

Super Bowl XXX (1996)

Pittsburgh: John L Williams* (RB), Ernie Mills* (WR)

Dallas: Emmitt Smith* (RB), Godfrey Myles (LB)

Super Bowl XXXIII (1999)

Atlanta: Elijah Williams (DB)

Super Bowl XXXIV (2000)

Tennessee: Jevon Kearse* (DE), Zach Piller (OG)

St. Louis: Kevin Carter* (DE)

Super Bowl XXXV (2001)

New York Giants: Lomas Brown* (OT), Ike Hilliard* (WR)

Baltimore: Jeff Mitchell* (C)

Super Bowl XXXVII (2003)

Oakland: Mo Collins* (OG)

Tampa Bay: Kenyatta Walker* (OT), Lomas Brown (OT)

Super Bowl XXXVIII (2004)

Carolina: Jeff Mitchell* (C)

Super Bowl XXXIX (2005)

Philadelphia: Lito Sheppard* (CB), Jevon Kearse* (DE)

New England: Gus Scott (S, IR)

Super Bowl XL (2006)

Seattle: Darrell Jackson* (WR), Marquand Manuel* (S)

Pittsburgh: Max Starks* (OT)

Super Bowl XLI (2007)

Chicago: Alex Brown* (DE), Rex Grossman* (QB), Todd Johnson (S), Ian Scott* (DT)

Super Bowl XLII (2008)

New England: Jabar Gaffney (WR), Chad Jackson (WR)

Super Bowl XLIII (2009)

Pittsburgh: Dallas Baker (WR), Max Starks* (OT)

Super Bowl XIV (2010)

New Orleans: Bobby McCray* (DE)

Super Bowl XLV (2011)

Pittsburgh: Maurkice Pouncey (C), Max Starks (OT) (both were injured and unable to play)

Super Bowl XLVI (2012)

New England: Brandon Spikes* (LB), Aaron Hernandez (TE), Gerard Warren (DT), Jermaine Cunningham (LB, IR)

New York Giants: Justin Trattou (DE, inactive)

Super Bowl XLVII (2013)

Baltimore: Deonte Thompson (WR, inactive)

San Francisco: Ray McDonald* (DE)

Super Bowl XL III (2014)

Denver: Andre Caldwell (WR), Jeremy Mincey* (DL), Lerentee McCray (LB)
Seattle: Percy Harvin* (WR)

Super Bowl XLIX (2015)

New England: Dominique Easley (DT, inactive)

Super Bowl XL (2016)

Denver: Andre Caldwell (WR), Max Garcia* (OL), Lerentee McCray* (LB)

Super Bowl LI (2017)

Atlanta: Keanu Neal* (DB), Brian Poole* (DB)

Super Bowl LII (2018)

Philadelphia: Trey Burton (TE), Jaylen Watkins (DB), Caleb Sturgis (K, IR)

New England: Mike Gillislee (RB)

Super Bowl LIII (2019)

Los Angeles: Dante Fowler, Jr.* (DL), Dominique Easley (DL)

New England: Trent Brown* (OL), Duke Dawson, Jr. (DB)

Super Bowl LIV (2020)

San Francisco: Marcell Harris (S)

Kansas City: Demarcus Robinson (WR)

*Started in the Super Bowl; BOLD indicates Super Bowl winning team