Culpepper, Spikes inducted to Florida-Georgia Hall of Fame

UF linebacker Brandon Spikes (51) celebrates his interception against LSU game at Ben Hill Griffin Stadium on Oct. 11, 2008. (Doug Finger/The Gainesville Sun/File)

Special to

Former University of Florida standouts Brad Culpepper and Brandon Spikes will be inducted to the 2019 Florida-Georgia Hall of Fame on Friday, Nov. 1, as part of the Florida-Georgia weekend, the City of Jacksonville announced Thursday.

 Culpepper, one of the Gators most decorated defensive linemen, starred at Florida from 1988-1991. He helped the Gators win the program’s first SEC Championship during his senior season in 1991, while earning First Team All-SEC honors and being named a consensus First Team All-American that season as well. Culpepper finished his career with 18 sacks and 47.5 tackles-for-loss, setting a school record as a senior with 21.5 TFLs. A four-year SEC Academic Honor Roll member, Culpepper received the Draddy Trophy in 1991 recognizing him as college football’s most outstanding student-athlete. He was inducted into the University of Florida Athletic Hall of Fame as a “Gator Great” in 2001.

 Spikes was a standout for the Gators defensive unit during his tenure from 2006-2009. A two-time All-American and three-time First-Team All-SEC selection, he appeared in 47 games with 39 starts at linebacker, collecting 307 total tackles (178 solo) in his career while registering 31.5 tackles for loss, including 6.5 QB sacks. Spikes forced two fumbles, recovered four fumbles and had six interceptions which he returned for 139 yards and four touchdowns. Spikes totaled four touchdown returns off interceptions from 2008-09, which was more than any other player in the nation and a Florida school record for interception touchdowns in a career. Since 1996, he is one of only three linebackers in the nation to have four interceptions returned for touchdowns.

 The duo will join Georgia’s Jarvis Jones and Rennie Curran as inductees to the Florida-Georgia Hall of Fame. 

 “The Florida-Georgia game is one of Jacksonville’s longest running traditions, and one of the most storied rivalries in college football,” said Jacksonville Mayor Lenny Curry. “Every year, the Hall of Fame Luncheon allows us the opportunity to recognize some of the most talented student-athletes and coaches and highlight the tremendous impact and strong connection this game has to our city.”

 Created in 1995, the Florida-Georgia Hall of Fame honors and recognizes the memorable players, coaches, and administrators involved in the long-standing rivalry.  Over the 24-year history of the Hall of Fame there have been 100 people inducted including legendary Gators Steve Spurrier, Danny Wuerffel, Tim Tebow and Fred Taylor, as well as Bulldog legends Vince Dooley, Herschel Walker, David Pollack and Knowshon Moreno. For information, please visit

 Hall of Fame tickets presented by RJ Young and table sponsorships for the event are on sale through the City of Jacksonville Sports & Entertainment Office. Contact Chandler Fussell at 904-255-5418 or for more information.