Gators in NFL: Former UF players on winning Super Bowl team 22 times

New England Patriots' Cordarrelle Patterson, center, left, and Trent Brown (University of Florida), center right, arrive for a walkthrough, Saturday in Atlanta, ahead of Super Bowl 53 against the Los Angeles Rams. (AP Photo/Matt Rourke)

Compiled by Will Pantages, UF Sports Information

 Two former Florida football players were crowned Super Bowl champions Sunday when the New England Patriots beat the Los Angeles Rams 13-3 in Super Bowl LIII.

New England employs a pair of former Gators, including offensive tackle Trent Brown and defensive back Duke Dawson Jr.

Florida has had a former player on a Super Bowl roster for 17 straight years, dating back to the 2003 season when offensive linemen Kenyatta Walker and Lomas Brown helped the Tampa Bay Buccaneers beat Mo Collins and the Oakland Raiders in Super Bowl XXXVII. That 17-year streak stands as the second longest of its kind in the SEC, as Georgia and LSU are tied for the longest streak at 18 years.

Overall, there have been 56 former Gators make 74 appearances in Super Bowl history, with a former UF player on the winning team 22 times.

Super Bowl I (1967) Green Bay: Don Chandler (P)
Super Bowl II (1968) Green Bay: Don Chandler (P)
Super Bowl X (1976) Dallas: Burton Lawless* (G)
Super Bowl XII(1978) Dallas: Larry Brinson (RB), Burton Lawless (G)
Super Bowl XIII (1979) Dallas: Larry Brinson (RB), Burton Lawless (G)
Super Bowl XIV (1980) Los Angeles Rams: Jack Youngblood* (DE)
Super Bowl XVI (1982) Cincinnati: Glenn Cameron* (LB), Cris Collinsworth* (WR)
Super Bowl XVII (1983) Miami: Nat Moore (WR)
Super Bowl XIX (1985) Miami: Nat Moore (WR)
Super Bowl XX (1986) Chicago: Wilber Marshall* (LB)
Super Bowl XXI (1987) Denver: Tony Lilly (FS), Ricky Nattiel (WR)
Super Bowl XXII (1988) Denver: Tony Lilly* (FS), Ricky Nattiel* (WR)
Super Bowl XXIII (1989) Cincinnati: Cris Collinsworth (WR)
Super Bowl XXVI (1992) Washington: Wilber Marshall* (LB)
Super Bowl XXVII (1993) Dallas: Emmitt Smith* (RB), Godfrey Myles (LB)
Super Bowl XXVIII (1994) Dallas: Emmitt Smith* (RB), Godfrey Myles (LB)
Super Bowl XXX (1996) Pittsburgh: John L Williams* (RB), Ernie Mills* (WR)
Dallas: Emmitt Smith* (RB), Godfrey Myles (LB)
Super Bowl XXXIII (1999) Atlanta: Elijah Williams (DB)
Super Bowl XXXIV (2000) Tennessee: Jevon Kearse* (DE), Zach Piller (OG)
St. Louis: Kevin Carter* (DE)
Super Bowl XXXV (2001) New York Giants: Lomas Brown* (OT), Ike Hilliard* (WR)
Baltimore: Jeff Mitchell* (C)
Super Bowl XXXVII (2003) Oakland: Mo Collins* (OG)
Tampa Bay: Kenyatta Walker* (OT), Lomas Brown (OT)
Super Bowl XXXVIII (2004) Carolina: Jeff Mitchell* (C)
Super Bowl XXXIX (2005) Philadelphia: Lito Sheppard* (CB), Jevon Kearse* (DE)
New England: Gus Scott (S, IR)
Super Bowl XL (2006) Seattle: Darrell Jackson* (WR), Marquand Manuel* (S)
Pittsburgh: Max Starks* (OT)
Super Bowl XLI (2007) Chicago: Alex Brown* (DE), Rex Grossman* (QB), Todd Johnson (S), Ian Scott* (DT)
Super Bowl XLII (2008) New England: Jabar Gaffney (WR), Chad Jackson (WR)
Super Bowl XLIII (2009) Pittsburgh: Dallas Baker (WR), Max Starks* (OT)
Super Bowl XIV (2010) New Orleans: Bobby McCray* (DE)
Super Bowl XLV (2011) Pittsburgh: Maurkice Pouncey (C), Max Starks (OT) (both were injured and unable to play)
Super Bowl XLVI (2012) New England: Brandon Spikes* (LB), Aaron Hernandez (TE), Gerard Warren (DT), Jermaine Cunningham (LB, IR)
New York Giants: Justin Trattou (DE, inactive)
Super Bowl XLVII (2013) Baltimore: Deonte Thompson (WR, inactive)
San Francisco: Ray McDonald* (DE)
Super Bowl XL III (2014) Denver: Andre Caldwell (WR), Jeremy Mincey* (DL), Lerentee McCray (LB)
Seattle: Percy Harvin* (WR)
Super Bowl XLIX (2015) New England: Dominique Easley (DT, inactive)
Super Bowl XL (2016) Denver: Andre Caldwell (WR), Max Garcia* (OL), Lerentee McCray* (LB)
Super Bowl LI (2017) Atlanta: Keanu Neal* (DB), Brian Poole* (DB)
Super Bowl LII (2018) Philadelphia: Trey Burton (TE), Jaylen Watkins (DB), Caleb Sturgis (K, IR)
New England: Mike Gillislee (RB)
Super Bowl LIII (2019) Los Angeles: Dante Fowler, Jr. (DL), Dominique Easley (DL)
New England: Trent Brown (OL), Duke Dawson, Jr. (DB)

*Started in the Super Bowl; BOLD indicates Super Bowl winning team