Super Bowl has SEC feel to it

The Vince Lombardi Trophy is displayed before a news conference for the NFL Super Bowl 53 on Wednesday in Atlanta. (AP Photo/David J. Phillip)

If you read our previous posts on the subject, you already know former UF football players competing in Sunday’s Super Bowl: Dante Fowler, LB, and Dominique Easley, LB/DE, for the Rams and Trent Brown, OL, and Duke Dawson, DB, for the Patriots.

A total of 26 former players from current Southeastern Conference institutions are on the full rosters, including practice squads and injured reserve, of New England and Los Angeles

Georgia and LSU lead the SEC with five former players represented in the Super Bowl, while Florida has four and Auburn with three. Twelve SEC schools will have at least one player represented in the Super Bowl.

A representative from a SEC institution has been named MVP of the Super Bowl on five occasions since 2006.

Los Angeles Rams
Mark Barron, LB, Alabama
Michael Brockers, DE, LSU
Blake Countess, CB, Auburn
Todd Gurley, RB, Georgia
John Kelly, RB, Tennessee
Josh Reynolds, WR, Texas A&M
Andrew Whitworth, OL, LSU
Ramik Wilson, LB, Georgia

New England Patriots
David Andrews, OL, Georgia
Adam Butler, DT, Vanderbilt
Danny Etling, QB, LSU
Trey Flowers, DE, Arkansas
Stephon Gilmore, DB, South Carolina
Frank Herron, DE, LSU
Dont’a Hightower, LB, Alabama
Jeremy Hill, RB, LSU
Jonathan Jones, DB, Auburn
Brandon King, LB, Auburn
Sony Michel, RB, Georgia
Cordarrelle Patterson, WR, Tennessee
Deatrich Wise, DE, Arkansas
Isaiah Wynn, OL, Georgia