Florida’s bowl trivia

Florida plays Michigan in the Chick-fil-a Peach Bowl on Dec. 29 in Atlanta. [Brad McClenny/The Gainesville Sun]


Part one — UF Trivia

  1. Only one Florida quarterback has thrown three touchdown passes in two different bowl games. Who is he?
  2. Who were the MVPs on Florida’s three national championship bowl wins? (Hint: Their were offensive and defensive MVPs in the last two so you need five guys, like the hamburger chain).
  3. Which Florida coach has the most wins and most losses in Florida bowl history?

Part two — Who am I?

I am the only running back to ever score three touchdowns in a bowl game for the Gators. Three receivers did it, but I was the only one toting the rock. They were all short runs totalling a mere six yards and I finished the game with 105 yards rushing on 25 carries. It’s fitting because I was known as a workhorse during my Florida career.

Part three — The Other Guys

Florida has faced some great quarterbacks in bowl games including Troy Aikman of UCLA, Teddy Bridgewater of Louisville and Sam Bradford of Oklahoma. But the quarterback who really lit up Florida in a bowl game was Chad Henne of Michigan. Henne was 25-of-39 for 373 yards, the most ever allowed by a Gator team in a bowl game, in the 2008 Capital One game. His 18-yard TD pass to Adrian Arrington put the Wolverines ahead for good in a 41-35 win. Florida was young on defense that year and even had to play Mike Pouncey at defensive tackle late in the season.

Trivia answers:

  1. Tim Tebow did it, once in a winning effort and once in a loss. He threw three against Michigan in the 2008 Capital One bowl game and again in the 2010 Sugar Bowl.
  2. Danny Wuerffel in the 1997 Sugar, Chris Leak and Derrick Harvey in the 2007 BCS National Championship Game and Tebow and Carlos Dunlap in the 2009 BCS National Championship Game. The other quarterback with a statue outside the stadium was the MVP in a losing effort in the 1966 Sugar Bowl.
  3. That would be Steve Spurrier, who won six bowl games and lost five. Urban Meyer has the best winning percentage with a 5-1 mark. Ray Graves was 4-1.

Who am I? I am Errict Rhett, Florida’s all-time leading rusher. I had three rushing touchdowns of one, two and three yards against West Virginia in the 1994 Sugar Bowl, a 41-7 victory.