Daily Football Fix: Did you know?

The Georgia Dome before for the SEC Championship Game, in Atlanta on Dec. 3, 2016. (Brad McClenny/The Gainesville Sun)

With the start of preseason camp rapidly approaching for the Florida Gators, it’s time to play a little game of Did You Know.

Did you know that …

  • Urban Meyer was never named the SEC coach of the year despite winning two national titles, but that Will Muschamp was in 2012?
  • The Gators’ first national defensive player of the year was Wilber Marshall in 1983 and the last was Brandon Spikes in 2008?
  • No Gator linebacker has ever won the Butkus Award?
  • The only Gator to win the Thorpe Award was safety Lawrence Wright in 1996?
  • No UF receiver has ever won the Biletnikoff Award?
  • The last UF punter to win the Ray Guy Award was Chas Henry in 2010?
  • A Gator offensive lineman hasn’t won the SEC’s Jacobs Blocking Trophy since Kenyatta Walker in 2000?
  • Florida’s first AP defensive player of the year in the SEC was Jevon Kearse in 1998 and the last was Keiwan Ratliff in 2003?
  • The last time a new Florida coach lost his first game was Charley Pell in 1979, 14-10  at Houston?
  • The last UF quarterback to have a 400-yard passing game in The Swamp was Eric Kresser in 1995 against Northern Illinois?
  • Taylor Jacobs (2002), Travis McGriff (1998) and Demarcus Robinson (2014) are the only Gators to have a 200-yard receiving game in The Swamp?
  • The original capacity of Florida Field was 21,769 when construction was completed on Oct. 27, 1930?
  • The radio play-by-play announcer for the first game at Florida Field (UF vs. Alabama on Nov. 8, 1930) was UF student Red Barber, who went on to become a radio legend?
  • The first night game at Florida Field was against The Citadel on Sept. 23, 1950?
  • Florida is 4-14-2 against defending national champions?
  • The Gators are 5-3 in overtime games?
  • Chris Leak completed 17 consecutive passes in a win over Wyoming in 2005?
  • Since the start of the 2010 season, the Gators have had only one QB with a 300-yard passing game (Luke Del Rio against Kentucky in 2016)?
  • Fullback John L. Williams caught 12 passes in a loss to Georgia in 1985?
  • Jabar Gaffney had more 100-yard receiving games (14) than any Gator in history?
  • In 1996, Reidel Anthony caught a TD pass in 11 consecutive games, a school record?
  • Ike Hilliard holds the school record for most consecutive games (35) with a reception?
  • For his career, Wes Chandler averaged a whopping 21.3 yards per reception, a school record?
  • Hal Griffin has the two longest punt returns (97 and 87 yards) in school history, both in 1946?
  • David Little has the most tackles in school history (475)?
  • UF’s all-time sack leader is Alex Brown with 33?
  • Brandon Siler recovered seven fumbles in the 2005 season?
  • Chris Rainey holds the school career record for most blocked kicks with six?
  • Since 1946, the Gators have had 206 non-offensive scores?
  • In the 16-10 win over LSU in Baton Rouge in 2016, the Gators had only one penalty for five yards, a school record?
  • The Gators had a school-record minus-78 yards rushing in a 47-35 loss to Mississippi State in 2000?
  • In the 2006 national championship game, the Gators held Ohio State to just 82 yards of total offense?
  • In a 9-0 loss to Georgia Tech in 1963, the Gators were held to a school-record low 32 yards of total offense?



    • Oh, I don’t think he hates us so much as he likes to tease our brains from time to time, lest we slip into a false sense of knowing it all. Think of it as a public service at this time of year, keeping us humble. My only problem is that it’s over 100 degrees outside, the A/C is once again going full blast, and you know what that means for poor souls with room temperature IQs.