Tebow named to UF’s Ring of Honor

University Athletic Association maintenance workers remove a flag pole near the new location of "The Ring of Honor," in the north end zone of the Ben Hill Griffin Stadium in August 29, 2007 photo.(TRACY WILCOX/The Gainesville Sun)

Tim Tebow, one of the most productive and popular players in Florida football history, is joining the school’s all-time greats in UF’s Ring of Honor this fall, the school announced Wednesday.

Tebow will be inducted into the Ring of Honor at the Oct. 6 LSU game in The Swamp, when his name will be unveiled and displayed in the North End Zone. He will join the five others already in the Ring of Honor — Wilber Marshall, Emmitt Smith, Steve Spurrier, Danny Wuerffel and Jack Youngblood.

“I am so humbled and thankful to be able to receive this blessing, being inducted into the Ring of Honor,” Tebow said in a statement released by UF. “I know in my heart that I truly couldn’t have done it without amazing coaches and teammates who loved and sacrificed for each other so that we could accomplish our goals.

“Loving Florida wasn’t just something I did for four years, but it has been a lifelong passion. I want to thank the University of Florida and all the fans for making Gator Nation so special. I was born a Gator, I played as a Gator, and I’ll always be a Gator!

“God Bless and Go Gators!”

Many consider Tebow the greatest player in UF history. He helped lead the Gators to two national championships and he won the Heisman Trophy in 2007. He is one of the most decorated players in college football history.

In his four-year UF career, Tebow threw for 9,285 yards and 88 touchdowns and rushed for 2,947 yards and 57 touchdowns.

The Ring of Honor was established in 2006 and unveiled on Sept. 30 of that year as part of the 100-year celebration of Gator football.

Smith, Spurrier, Wuerffel and Youngblood were part of the original unveiling. Marshall was the most recent inductee in 2007.



  1. About time, I say. Spurrier and Tebow were two of the best athletes to ever put on any kind of Gators athletic jersey and represent it so well both on and off the field. Congrats, Tim, on a well-earned and well-deserved forever in time honor. Go Gators.

  2. Congrats Tim Tebow #15! You deserve it! And I will ALWAYS remember you beating Herschel Walker’s
    ”S.E. C.’s All-time rushing T.D. record” in the FLORIDA/U.G.A. game. It was ”poetic justice.” CHOMP-CHOMP!
    Go Gators and congrats to Tim Tebow!

      • ”Always wanting to vindicate ourselves” is a huge human weakness, but still, I am ”vindicating Tim Tebow.” As Tim Tebow only scored ‘5’ T.D.s in his freshman year.
        So your idea, ”Dawg”, that all ”he had to do was stay healthy” reeks of disrespect and red & black jealously. Tim Tebow was one of the most decorated (with awards) college football players ever! CHOMP-CHOMP! And congrats Tim Tebow!

  3. I know I have heard Dooley talk about how ridiculous the credentials are to qualify for the “Ring of Honor”. Can someone please explain what it takes to qualify for the ring in detail. Thank you and congrats Tebow!!!!!

    • Duffy: Per UF, for a player or coach to merit consideration for induction into the Gators Football Ring of Honor, at least one of the following criteria must be met. In addition, the individual must have been departed from UF for at least five seasons, and he must be in good standing with the institution.

      Criteria to Merit Consideration
      Heisman Trophy Winners
      Former UF All-Americans Inducted into NFL Hall of Fame for Accomplishments as Players
      Former UF All-Americans Who Are NFL Career Category Leaders
      Collegiate Career Category Leaders
      Coaches with UF National Championships
      Coaches with at least 3 UF SEC Championships
      Players with 2 or more consensus All-American honors (AP, Walter Camp, Sporting News, AFCA, FWAA, UPI) who have also been named National Offensive/Defensive Players of Year (AP, Walter Camp, Sporting News, ABC, AFCA, FWAA, UPI)

    • Former Gators who qualify:
      Brandon Spikes (2x All-American)
      Urban Meyer (National Championship coach)
      Rex Grossman (2001 AP Player of the Year)

      If Lomas Brown makes it to the NFL HOF, he’d become eligible (1984 All-American).

  4. Much deserved honor for Tim as well as the others currently there. I hope that this remains a very exclusive group going forward. I suspect that I may get some blow back on this next thought, but I think John Reaves should get at least some consideration for this at some point. He finished his Gator career with the NCAA record for most career passing yards (I’m certain old UM fans will remember the play on which this occurred, the infamous “Gator Flop”). Though this record has since been surpassed by several players, it was a significant accomplishment at that time. Maybe Carlos Alvarez should come with him. Just the thoughts of an older lifelong Gator! We love you Tim!!

    • There’s a couple-three I’m curious about, Dan–especially after Arnold was kind enough to publish the criteria. The problem I see is that with more time passing, they may be forgotten. But nothing should take away this special time for Tim, that’s for sure.