Gators’ history-making finish



After some research for the UF sports information staff, it is believed that the 63-yard TD pass from Feleipe Franks to Tyrie Cleveland on Saturday was the first time in history that the Gators defeated an opponent with a touchdown on the final play of regulation.

Since 1964, the Gators have won two games with walk-off field goals. Bobby Lyle did it in 1964 with a 41-yarder against Mississippi State and Arden Czyzewski beat LSU on the final play in 1989, also with a 41-yarder. Those games also ended by the same score of 16-13.


  1. I believe the ’89 LSU game was in Baton Rouge. The Gators were out of timeouts, and in those days, you weren’t allowed to “clock” the ball, so the Gator QB (Kyle Morris ?) had to throw the ball to the sideline to stop the clock. The clock went to zero, but the officials put a couple of seconds back on, and that allowed the game winning field goal. I remember thinking those officials had a lot of guts to do that in front of the LSU home crowd when they could’ve just said “game over” and walked away.

    I think that game was also Galen Hall’s last as the Gators’ head coach.

  2. I remember the Czyzewski FG well. October 6th, 1989, happened to be my 21st birthday. Made the trip from Gainesville to New Orleans. Went to Baton Rouge the morning of the game. Planned to stay in BR that night but the LSU fans were so mad we headed back to New Orleans and partied in style. We couldn’t believe the refs put time back on the clock at night in Death Valley. The refs must have been given an armed escort to the airport.

    Go Gators!!