Celebration of the 25th anniversary of The Swamp

Fans can purchase a commemorative 32 oz. 25th Anniversary cup at the concession stands throughout the season. [UAA]

One year after the University of Florida’s Board of Trustees voted to add Steve Spurrier’s name to Florida Field, Spurrier will be honored once again as it’s the 25th anniversary of when the Head Ball Coach gave Ben Hill Griffin Stadium its nickname, The Swamp.

“The ‘Swamp’ is a place where only Gators get out alive,” Spurrier told then-Gainesville Sun columnist Mike Bianchi in 1992. “We feel comfortable there, but we hope our opponents feel tentative. A swamp is hot and sticky and can be dangerous. We feel this is an appropriate nickname for our stadium.”

What is the UAA doing to commemorate this special occasion?

  • Student season ticket holders will receive a commemorative 25th Anniversary-Spurrier shirt and pick up will be today – Thursday this week, from 8:30 a.m. – 5 p.m. at the student ticket office (Gate 13)

• Fans can purchase a commemorative 25th Anniversary Swamp t-shirt in the Gator Sportshop.

Spurrier will be recognized by the National Football Foundation for his new Hall of Fame induction. The 1966 Heisman Trophy winner and 1986 National Football Foundation College Football Hall of Fame inductee (as a player), re-entered the CFB Hall of Fame in January for his accomplishments on the sideline as a head coach.

Spurrier is the fourth person to get in as a coach and player as he joins Amos Alonzo Stagg, Bobby Dodd and Bowden Wyatt.

  • Fans can purchase a commemorative 32 oz. 25th anniversary cup at the concession stands throughout the entire season

 Jim McElwain is 11-1 at home after going unbeaten in “The Swamp” last year.

Spurrier will be leading the cheers Saturday night. He and his first UF quarterback, Shane Matthews, are serving as co-honorary Mr. Two Bits.

Spurrier and Matthews know a little something about winning in The Swamp. Spurrier was 68-5 in his 12-year coaching career with the Gators and Matthews was 18-0 as the starting quarterback.