Nembhard named to SEC All-Freshman Team

Florida freshman guard Andrew Nembhard is considered the best passer in the 2018 recruiting class. [Brad McClenny/Staff photographer]

Special to

Point guard Andrew Nembhard earned a place on the 2019 SEC All-Freshman Team, the league announced Tuesday.

Nembhard, who has started every game this season, has handed out 162 assists, the 10th-highest single-season total in Florida history and the No. 2 performance by a freshman, trailing only Nick Calathes’ 221 assists in 2007-08.

The Aurora, Ontario, native has twice earned SEC Freshman of the Week honors throughout the season and has had several notable performances. In just his seventh collegiate game, Nembhard racked up 11 assists without a turnover against North Florida, becoming the first SEC freshman to have 11 assists and no turnovers in a game since 2004 (Ronald Steele, Alabama).

On Feb. 16, Nembhard led the Gators to a win at Alabama with 21 points on a perfect 9-for-9 shooting performance, the first time an SEC player hit nine field goals without a miss in a conference game since 1999 (Isiah Victor, Tennessee).

Nembhard has led or co-led the Gators in assists in 26 of the team’s 31 games this season and has 10 double-figure scoring games. His 2.4 assist-to-turnover ratio ranks fourth in the SEC and his 5.2 assists per game rate sixth in the league.

The Gators open SEC Tournament action in Nashville on Thursday at 1 p.m. Eastern, facing Arkansas on SEC Network.

2019 SEC Award Winners

First Team All-SEC
Daniel Gafford, Arkansas
PJ Washington, Kentucky
Tremont Waters, LSU
Breein Tyree, Ole Miss
Quinndary Weatherspoon, Mississippi St.
Chris Silva, South Carolina
Admiral Schofield, Tennessee
Grant Williams, Tennessee

Second Team All-SEC
Bryce Brown, Auburn
Jared Harper, Auburn
Nicolas Claxton, Georgia
Tyler Herro, Kentucky
Keldon Johnson, Kentucky
Skylar Mays, LSU
Terence Davis, Ole Miss
Jordan Bone, Tennessee

All-Freshman Team
Kira Lewis Jr., Alabama
Isaiah Joe, Arkansas
Andrew Nembhard, Florida
Tyler Herro, Kentucky
Keldon Johnson, Kentucky
Naz Reid, LSU
Reggie Perry, Mississippi State
A.J. Lawson, South Carolina

All-Defensive Team
Donta Hall, Alabama
Daniel Gafford, Arkansas
Ashton Hagans, Kentucky
Tremont Waters, LSU
Chris Silva, South Carolina

Coach of the Year: Kermit Davis, Ole Miss
Player of the Year: Grant Williams, Tennessee
Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Skylar Mays, LSU
Freshman of the Year: Keldon Johnson, Kentucky
Sixth-Man of the Year: Hassani Gravett, South Carolina
Co-Defensive Players of the Year: Tremont Waters, LSU & Ashton Hagans, Kentucky