UF’s Lee chosen for 2018 SEC Legends Class

Denmark's Caroline Wozniacki and fiance' David Lee with her Australian Open trophy, the Daphne Akhurst Memorial Cup in the Royal Botanical Gardens in Melbourne, Australia on Jan. 28. Wozniacki defeated Romania's Simona Halep 7-6, 3-6, 6-4 in the title match. Lee, a former standout at UF, was named an SEC Legend by the league Wednesday. (AP Photo/Ng Han Guan)

Special to Gatorsports.com

David Lee was named to the 2018 class of Southeastern Conference Men’s Basketball Legends, the league announced office Wednesday.

The 2005 SEC Tournament Champion and 2016 UF Athletics Hall of Fame inductee will be honored at the SEC Tournament in St. Louis this March.

Lee averaged double-digit points his final three seasons at Florida. This included a career-high 13.6 his senior campaign while helping the Gators to their first SEC Tournament title in program history.

He played in the league for 12 seasons making NBA All-Star Game appearances in 2010 and 2013. He averaged 13.5 points per game and 8.8 rebounds over the course of his career while helping the Golden State Warriors win the NBA Championship in 2015.

Lee, who was drafted in the first round by the New York Knicks in 2005, played for five franchises in his career. He most recently was with the San Antonio Spurs in 2016-17 playing in 79 games while making 10 starts.

Joining Lee in the 2018 class is James Robinson (Alabama), Jonathon Modica (Arkansas), Joel Eaves (Auburn), Chad Kessler (Georgia), Joe Crawford (Kentucky), John Brady (LSU), Rob Evans (Ole Miss), Ray White (Mississippi State), Doug Smith (Missouri), Carey Rich (South Carolina), Howard Wood (Tennessee), Barry Davis (Texas A&M) and Godfrey Dillard (Vanderbilt).

SEC Legends – Florida Honorees

1999: Tony Miller

2000: Neal Walk

2001: Andy Owens

2002: Chip Williams

2003: Gary Keller

2004: Gene Shy

2005: Stacey Poole

2006: Andrew Moten

2007: Andrew DeClerq

2008: Dan Cross

2009: Eugene McDowell

2010: Bob Emrick

2011: Craig Brown

2012: Mike Miller

2013: Bill Koss

2014: Greg Stolt

2015: Eddie Shannon

2016: Lee Humphrey

2017: Matt Bonner

2018: David Lee