Gators make NCAA Tournament field as third seed in Lubbock Regional

[Courtesy of UAA]

LUBBOCK, Texas – Florida made its 12th consecutive NCAA Tournament when the 64-team field was announced Monday.

The Gators (33-24), the third seed, will play second seed Dallas Baptist (41-18) at 8 p.m. (ET) Friday (ESPN3) in the Lubbock Regional.

For the fourth consecutive season, No. 8 Texas Tech was chosen to host an NCAA Regional at Dan Law Field at Rip Griffin Park. The 2019 Big 12 champion Red Raiders (39-17) will play four seed Army (35-24) at 4 p.m. Friday.

Lubbock Regional

1. Texas Tech (39-17), No. 8 national seed

2. Dallas Baptist (41-18)

3. Florida (33-24)

4. Army (35-24)

The Gators are making their 35th regional appearance and 12th in a row under head coach Kevin O’Sullivan, the longest postseason streak in school history. UF is 115-76 (.602) all-time in NCAA Tournament action and has reached the CWS 12 times, including each of the past four seasons.

The Regional continues through Sunday, with a final game to be played Monday, if necessary. The Lubbock Regional winner will face the winner of the Oklahoma City Regional in a Super Regional series next weekend. The eight Super Regional winners advance to the College World Series in Omaha, Neb.

Tickets for the Regional are available through the host site, beginning at 9:30 a.m. on Wednesday. (TICKETS)

 Pac-12 champion UCLA is the No. 1 national seed for the NCAA baseball tournament.

The Bruins (47-8) won every series for the first time in program history and carry a 10-game winning streak into the tournament, which opens with regional play Friday.

The No. 2 seed is Vanderbilt (49-10), which has won 22 of its last 23 games and is the first team to sweep the Southeastern Conference regular-season and tournament championships since it did so in 2007.

Top eight national seeds play at home for super regionals if they win regionals. Behind UCLA and Vanderbilt are Georgia Tech, Georgia, Arkansas, Mississippi State, Louisville and Texas Tech.

The Southeastern Conference led all conferences in the number of teams in the championship field with a record-tying 10 teams selected for the NCAA Tournament.