Women's tennis: Gators garner SEC awards

Published: Wednesday, April 27, 2016 at 4:43 p.m.
Last Modified: Wednesday, April 27, 2016 at 4:43 p.m.

Florida's Roland Thornqvist was named SEC Coach of the Year for the fifth time. Florida is 21-2 overall and ended the conference season undefeated at 13-0 and the SEC champion. The team also won the SEC Tournament on Sunday with a 4-2 victory over Georgia.

Florida's Brooke Austin was named Player of the Year for the second consecutive season. Austin becomes the third women's tennis student-athlete to be awarded back-to-back Player of the Year honors. Last season, she became the first to be named both Player and Freshman of the Year honors in the same season.

Receiving All-SEC first-team honors: Austin and Belinda Woolcock. Second team: Anna Danilina, Kourtney Keegan and Brianna Morgan.

Reader comments posted to this article may be published in our print edition. All rights reserved. This copyrighted material may not be re-published without permission. Links are encouraged.

▲ Return to Top