Florida football countdown

Published: Monday, August 25, 2014 at 6:01 a.m.
Last Modified: Sunday, August 24, 2014 at 7:34 p.m.

5 … Members of Florida’s Ring of Honor.

The idea for a Wall of Fame or Ring of Honor had been floating around for years, but it wasn’t until Florida celebrated its 100th anniversary of football that the athletic department decided to run with it.

Strict guidelines were set up, some of which had more to do with a player’s NFL career than his career at Florida.

But the first four to go in were pretty obvious.

Steve Spurrier not only won Florida’s first Heisman Trophy but its first national championship plus six SEC championships.

Danny Wuerffel won the school’s second Heisman Trophy, set numerous records and led the 1996 Gators to that national title.

Emmitt Smith broke almost every Florida rushing record and became the NFL’s all-time leading rusher.

Jack Youngblood was an All-American and Florida’s first NFL Hall of Famer.

All but Smith attended (he had Dancing With The Stars practice). The following year, the criteria was rewritten to get Wilber Marshall into the Ring. Marshall was upset in ‘06 that he wasn’t included.

Only two other men have qualified for the ring -- Tim Tebow and Urban Meyer. Tebow is eligible to go in this year and Meyer the next. It might be awhile before Meyer is inducted because of the way he left Florida.

Reader comments posted to this article may be published in our print edition. All rights reserved. This copyrighted material may not be re-published without permission. Links are encouraged.

▲ Return to Top