Brewer, 21 others honored by SEC

Published: Tuesday, May 27, 2014 at 10:00 p.m.
Last Modified: Tuesday, May 27, 2014 at 10:54 p.m.

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. — Florida junior triple jumper Ciarra Brewer was named the SEC Co-Women's Field Athlete of the Year and 21 other Gators were All-SEC honorees for the SEC outdoor season, unveiled by the league office Tuesday.

Brewer, the SEC champion in the triple jump for the third consecutive year, has the best leap in the nation (13.91m/45-7.75) entering the NCAA East Preliminaries in Jacksonville this weekend.

The mark, which came on her first attempt at SECs last week, also bettered her school record and SEC meet record in the event. The Gators swept both triple jump titles at SEC outdoors, as Marquis Dendy claimed the men's championship, giving the Gators six of the last seven triple jump titles on the women's side and five straight for the men.

Brewer became just the second SEC athlete to win three straight triple jump titles, the other being former Gator great Shara Proctor.

Florida garnered five All-SEC first-teamers, all of whom were SEC champions at the outdoor championships in Lexington — Brewer, Dendy, Cory McGee (1500m), Fawn Miller (javelin) and Stipe Zunic (shot put). Additionally, the Gators had 16 athletes named to the second team, eight men and women, while first years Nick Uruburu and Becky Greene gave Florida an SEC All-Freshman Team nod on each side.


Men's Runner of the Year: Deon Lendore, Texas A&M

Men's Field Athlete of the Year: Ricky Robertson, Ole Miss

Men's Freshman Runner of the Year: Omar McLeod, Arkansas

Men's Freshman Field Athlete of the Year: Alex Poursanidis, Georgia

Men's Coach of the Year: Pat Henry, Texas A&M

Men's Co-Scholar-Athletes of the Year: Brandon Lord, Georgia and Nathanael Franks, Arkansas

Women's Runner of the Year: Olivia Ekpone', Texas A&M

Women's Co-Field Athlete of the Year: Ciarra Brewer, Florida and Shelbi Vaughan, Texas A&M

Women's Freshman Runner of the Year: Shamier Little, Texas A&M

Women's Freshman Field Athlete of the Year: Kendell Williams, Georgia

Women's Coach of the Year: Lance Harter, Arkansas

Women's Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Jill Rushin, Missouri

Men's All-SEC First Team (Florida honorees)

Marquis Dendy, Florida

Stipe Zunic, Florida

Men's All-SEC Second Team (Florida honorees)

Dedric Dukes, Florida

Najee Glass, Florida

Hugh Graham, Jr., Florida

Eddie Lovett, Florida

Ryan Schnulle, Florida

Kyle Strawn, Florida

Nick Uruburu, Florida

Antwan Wright, Florida

Men's SEC All-Freshman Team (Florida honorees)

400m: Nick Uruburu, Florida

Women's All-SEC First Team (Florida honorees)

Ciarra Brewer, Florida

Cory McGee, Florida

Fawn Miller, Florida

Women's All-SEC Second Team (Florida honorees)

Taylor Burke, Florida

Loreal Curtis, Florida

Ebony Eutsey, Florida

Destinee Gause, Florida

Bridgette Owens, Florida

Robin Reynolds, Florida

Shayla Sanders, Florida

Marija Vucenovic, Florida

Women's SEC All-Freshman Team (Florida honorees)

800m: Rebekah Greene, Florida

Reader comments posted to this article may be published in our print edition. All rights reserved. This copyrighted material may not be re-published without permission. Links are encouraged.

▲ Return to Top