Gators' rotation of non-divisional opponents announced

UF’s SEC slate set through 2025

Published: Monday, May 19, 2014 at 4:56 p.m.
Last Modified: Monday, May 19, 2014 at 4:56 p.m.

The Florida Gators already knew that Alabama would be their opponent on the new rotating schedule with the Western Division starting in 2014. Now, the Gators know the rest of the lineup against the West through the year 2025.

The SEC announced a 12-year rotation of non-division opponents Monday.

The league's athletic directors reconfirmed the rotation at their May meeting after deciding to remain with an eight-game SEC schedule — with one permanent non-division opponent and one rotating.

UF's permanent opponent from the West is LSU.

The Gators first rotating opponent is Alabama, which then will not come to Florida Field until 2021.

The Gators — and the league's 13 other schools — will not play the non-divisional rotating opponents in back-to-back seasons. This will allow schools to play all conference opponents on a more frequent basis.

Also, the rotation for the first six years is not the same as the rotation in the second six in order to maintain four home conference games and four road games per school.

Here's a look at UF's rotating schedule against teams from the West: 2014 — at Alabama; 2015 — Ole Miss; 2016 — at Arkansas; 2017 — Texas A&M; 2018 — at Mississippi State; 2019 — Auburn; 2020 — at Ole Miss; 2021 — Alabama; 2022 — at Texas A&M; 2023 — Arkansas; 2024 — at Auburn; 2025 — Mississippi State.

Contact Robbie Andreu at 352-374-5022 or Also check out Andreu's blog at

Reader comments posted to this article may be published in our print edition. All rights reserved. This copyrighted material may not be re-published without permission. Links are encouraged.

▲ Return to Top