Gators clinch outright SEC title after UK loss

Florida forward Dorian Finney-Smith (10), forward Casey Prather (24) and guard Scottie Wilbekin (5) celebrate in the closing seconds of the Gators' 71-66 win over Auburn Tigerss at the O'Connell Center on Feb. 19.

Matt Stamey / Staff photographer
Published: Thursday, February 27, 2014 at 9:00 p.m.
Last Modified: Thursday, February 27, 2014 at 9:24 p.m.

Florida didn't even need to take to court Thursday to earn another men's basketball Southeastern Conference title.

The No. 1 Gators clinched their third outright SEC regular season championship in the past four seasons after Arkansas upset No. 17 Kentucky 71-67 in overtime at Rupp Arena.

The Gators will likely celebrate by cutting down the nets after Saturday's matchup with LSU at the O'Connell Center. No. 1 Florida (26-2, 15-0) will take a 20-game win streak into its matchup with the Tigers.

Florida has won six SEC regular seasons titles in 18 seasons under head coach Billy Donovan, including outright SEC titles in 2007, 2011, 2013 and 2014. Florida won shared SEC titles in 2000 and 2001.

By winning the SEC, Florida also clinched the No. 1 seed in the SEC Tournament. Florida will have a double-bye and open in the quarterfinal round Friday, March 14, at 1 p.m. at the Georgia Dome in Atlanta.

Reader comments posted to this article may be published in our print edition. All rights reserved. This copyrighted material may not be re-published without permission. Links are encouraged.

▲ Return to Top