34 local students named National Merit finalists

Published: Friday, February 14, 2014 at 9:42 p.m.
Last Modified: Friday, February 14, 2014 at 9:42 p.m.

All 34 Alachua County public school students who were named National Merit Scholarship semifinalists in September have been selected as finalists.

That number is a slight increase over the county’s 32 public school finalists last year and 22 in 2012, according to information provided by the school district.

National Merit Scholarship finalists represent the top 15,000 students in the nation, based on test scores and comprehensive academic achievement. Only about 1 percent of all students who take the PSAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test make the cut.

In Alachua County, they are: Stephen Dolbier, Andrew Fang, Kevin Huang, David Hurst, Hyun Rhee, Stephen So, Robin Xu, and Vivian Zhu of Buchholz High School; Apara Agarwal, Grant Berg, Can Cao, Prescott Cowles, Victoria Deal, Evon Debose-Scarlett, Abigail Eisenstadt, Alicia Fan, Samuel Hagen, Alexis Hanlon, Xingchen Li, Emma Nolan, Wesley Olmsted, Hope Pan, Christine Pu, Alexandra Sourakov, Alvaro Valle, Yuxin Zhang and Wenli Zhao of Eastside High School; and Christopher Berry, Daniel Carvalho, Connor Davis, Sadie Depeter, Dayna Duffy, Stephanie Hargrave and Martina Knechel of Gainesville High School.

Alachua County Public Schools also has five National Achievement Scholarship finalists, recognized as the top-performing African-American high school students in the United States.

The five are Buchholz seniors Raven Delk and Andre Alford and Eastside seniors Olutosin Adesogan, Evon Debose-Scarlett and Breanna Dede.

Reader comments posted to this article may be published in our print edition. All rights reserved. This copyrighted material may not be re-published without permission. Links are encouraged.

▲ Return to Top