NFL Combine invites 8 Gators

Published: Friday, February 7, 2014 at 1:52 p.m.
Last Modified: Friday, February 7, 2014 at 1:52 p.m.

There will be quite a Florida presence at the NFL Combine later this month in Indianapolis.

Eight former Gators have been invited to participate in the combine — defensive tackle Dominique Easley, safety/cornerback Jaylen Watkins, offensive guard Jon Halapio, center Jon Harrison, outside linebacker Ronald Powell, receiver/running back Trey Burton and cornerbacks Loucheiz Purifoy and Marcus Roberson.

Of those eight, three are underclassmen — Powell, Roberson and Purifoy. Roberson could be the first UF player taken in the draft, possibly as high as early in the second round.

The combine is Feb. 22-25. The NFL draft is May 8-10 in New York.

Reader comments posted to this article may be published in our print edition. All rights reserved. This copyrighted material may not be re-published without permission. Links are encouraged.

▲ Return to Top