PFLAG donations help youth at homeless shelter

Clad in Santa suits, participants run and walk in the annual Haile Santa Dash. The event, which took place Dec. 14 at the Haile Village Center, raised $1,100 for Haile's Angels Pet Rescue and Give Kids The World, a nonprofit that provides weeklong free vacations for kids with life-threatening illnesses and their families.

Submitted photo
Published: Sunday, January 26, 2014 at 7:39 p.m.
Last Modified: Sunday, January 26, 2014 at 7:39 p.m.

Gainesville members of Parents, Family and Friends of Lesbians and Gays, or PFLAG, made donations to the CDS Interface Youth Shelter, the only shelter for homeless and/or runaway youth in the region accepting all youth ages 10-17. Because youth identified as lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer or questioning, or LGBTQ, are an over-represented minority in the total population of homeless youth, PFLAG members wanted to show their support by collecting items on the CDS wish list, including games, towels, bedding, jackets and toiletries.

CDS Interface Youth Shelters are part of the National Safe Place network of shelters around the country to help save and protect vulnerable youth from becoming victims.

CDS Interface Youth Shelters in Gainesville, Palatka and Lake City help youth who are on the streets or at-risk for running away.

In addition to room and board, the youth attend school, have daily counseling and work through a social skills development curriculum. Most are able to successfully return home. Approximately 500 youth per year spend a few weeks or longer in the residential program, and another 300 families are helped through Family Action, an out-patient counseling program. CDS does not charge participants for these services. For help or information, call (352) 244-0618 to reach the shelter 24/7, or call 244-0628 to reach the office. You can also go to Contributions are tax-deductible.

* * *

Eastside High School students were among the more than 127,000 students in nearly 2,500 schools worldwide that sat for their International Baccalaureate Diplomas recently. I.B. Diplomas are awarded based on a combination of rigorous criteria that includes passing subject area examinations, completing a minimum of 150 volunteer hours in the areas of creativity, action and service, completing a 4,000-word essay based on a research question, and satisfying the Theory of Knowledge requirements, which are an oral presentation on a knowledge issue and writing an essay based on a knowledge proposition.

The Eastside High School students in the Class of 2013 who were awarded their IB Diplomas attended a diploma ceremony held on Dec. 19 at Eastside High School.

They were: Angela Marie Acosta, Tithi Bhavesh Amin, Oscar Alan Becher, Emel Bihorac, Esther Blondeau-Lecomte, James Fenwick Bowen, Chelsea Renee Camps, Andrew Nicholas Chu, Henry Peirson Cole, Emily Caylen Curry, Hannah Melinda Dailey, Paul Matthew Donsky, Marie Rose Edinger, Sarah Dee Fang, Florencia Fernández, Nicholas Pierre Fethiere, Samuel Ramsey Fraleigh, Preet Gandhi, Juliana García-Mejía, James Tully Gilmartin, Jessica Barrett Gower, Bushra Sarah Guenoun, Melissa Rose Hatch, Holly Catheryn Hazen-Hamilton, Joshua Magnus Hirschfeld-Kroen, Julia Grace Holbrook, Kathryn Ann Horter, Madison Kathryn Housden, Flora Shanchen Huang, Tuyet-Van Thi Huynh, Carl Gustav Hyler, Erin Marisa Isaz, Rubab Islam, Shannon Elizabeth Jackson, Anna Lisa Jacobs, McKenzie Anita Jones, Michael Keehan Kim, Ryan Keehoon Kim, Tabong Wilner Kima, Lydia Joan Koropeckyj-Cox, Ravi Armand Kumar, Austin Camille Landis, Emma Patience Lannon, Jennifer Thao Le, Grace Park Lee, Katie Jaehee Lee, Annie Mei Li, Fanning Lin, Ginnie Lin, David Liu, Anne Kathrine Lott, Sam Harrison Louie-Meadors, Evan Hutchings Macphaul, Janke Mains-Mason,Tucker Merryman Mastin, Catherine Emma Miney, Naweed Shadmaan Mohammad, Candace Nicole Moss, Alexandra Gillian Mueller, Mary Katherine Mulligan, Akshaya Maanasa Nataraj, Arielle Janae Nelson, Elizabeth Brooke Osmun, Rachana Dilip Patel, Katherine Elizabeth Pedrick, Annalee Christine Pérez, Vladi Vladislav Petrov, Forest Rain Pritchett, Alan Noel Reyes, Evan Samuel Robins, Hannah Leigh Rogers, Seth Aaron Rutman, Cynthia Rajam Sagayaraj, Radhika Salwan, Neena Schueller, Cameron Gregory Self, Shaun Wajsman Sharabi, Emilie Song, Lauren Ann Strickland, Anna Ngaio Sucsy, Rebecca Ann Sugrue, Angela Thai An Tang,Carsten Monrad Thue-Bludworth, Victoria Adriana Todd, Alan Torroella, Laura Nicoll Varón, Antonia Ivanova Veltcheva, Lauren Bottomly Von-Zabern, Madeline Grace Walsh, Michael David Walsh, Emily Jean Whitehead, Zachary Ryan Wolcott, Nicole Marie Wolf, Ellen Michelle Yeats, Erich James Zellmer, and James Boyuan Zhang.

Reader comments posted to this article may be published in our print edition. All rights reserved. This copyrighted material may not be re-published without permission. Links are encouraged.

▲ Return to Top