Point guard situation improving for Gators

Florida freshman point guard Kasey Hill took his first step toward returning to the court, participating in individual drills on Wednesday.

Matt Stamey/Staff photographer
Published: Thursday, December 5, 2013 at 5:46 p.m.
Last Modified: Thursday, December 5, 2013 at 5:46 p.m.

Florida's point guard situation heading into its matchup with Kansas next Tuesday in the SEC-Big 12 Challenge is not as dire as initially feared.

Freshman McDonald's All-American point guard Kasey Hill began individual drills on Wednesday, the first step toward a possible return to the court. And although senior point guard Scottie Wilbekin sat out practice Wednesday, the ankle sprain he suffered late in Monday's game against Connecticut is not as severe as initially feared.

Neither Hill nor Wilbekin have been ruled out for this Tuesday's game against the Jayhawks at the O'Connell Center.

Hill has been out since suffering a high ankle sprain Nov. 18 in the first half of UF's 67-53 win over Southern. The 6-foot-1 guard from Umatilla was averaging 10.3 points and 4.3 assists in four games at the time of his injury.

Wilbekin has averaged 11.3 points, 5.7 assists and 3.1 steals in three games since his return from a disciplinary suspension to start the season. The 6-foot-2 guard from Gainesville rolled his ankle while landing for a rebound late against the Huskies.

The return of one or both point guards would provide the Gators with some needed depth against No. 6 Kansas. After Wilbekin's injury, the Gators were down to five healthy scholarship players late in the Connecticut game. Forward DeVon Walker played two minutes against the Huskies but is still not 100-percent recovered from a sprained foot. Guard Eli Carter has been slow to heal from a broken leg sustained last February and did not play against Connecticut due to a coach's decision.

Carter is expected to take a medical redshirt. He has until next Tuesday against Kansas whether to proceed with his junior season or sit out the rest of the season without it counting toward his eligibility.

Reader comments posted to this article may be published in our print edition. All rights reserved. This copyrighted material may not be re-published without permission. Links are encouraged.

▲ Return to Top