SEC men's basketball: UF picked to finish No. 2

Published: Wednesday, October 16, 2013 at 11:18 a.m.
Last Modified: Wednesday, October 16, 2013 at 11:18 a.m.

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. — Once again, Florida finds itself in the position of SEC bridesmaids heading into the 2013-14 men’s basketball season.


Points in Preseason Media Poll

Kentucky (21) 371
Florida (5) 353
Tennessee (1) 320
LSU 270
Missouri 262
Alabama 257
Ole Miss 216
Arkansas 197
Texas A&M 139
Vanderbilt 125
Georgia 119
South Carolina 108
Mississippi State 59
Auburn 39

Parentheses indicate first-place votes.

The Gators were picked to finish second in the 14-team league behind Kentucky in the league’s annual preseason media poll. Kentucky received 21 first-place votes, while the Gators received five. Tennessee, picked to finish third in the league, garnered the last first-place vote.

Last season, Florida was picked to finish second in the league and wound up winning its second SEC regular season title in the last three seasons.

No Florida player made the All-SEC first team. Senior center Patric Young and senior point guard Scottie Wilbekin made the All-SEC second team. Young averaged 10.1 points and 6.3 rebounds last season while earning All-SEC first team defensive honors. Wilbekin also was named an All-SEC first team defender last season while averaging 9.1 points per game and finishing second in the league with 5 assists per game.

Alabama guard Trevor Releford, Kentucky forward Julius Randle, LSU center Johnny O’Bryant, Ole Miss guard Marshall Henderson and Tennessee guard Jordan McRae were named to the All-SEC first team. Randle, a freshman, was named preseason SEC player of the year despite having not played a minute of college basketball.

“He’s a tremendous player,” said Missouri coach Frank Haith, who recruited Randle. “But those are big expectations.”

First Team All-SEC

Trevor Releford – Alabama, G, Sr.

Julius Randle – Kentucky, F, Fr.

Johnny O'Bryant III – LSU, F, Jr.

Marshall Henderson – Ole Miss, G, Sr.

Jordan McRae – Tennessee, G, Sr.

Second Team All-SEC

Scottie Wilbekin – Florida, G, Sr.

Patric Young – Florida, C, Sr.

Willie Cauley-Stein – Kentucky, F, So.

Andrew Harrison – Kentucky, G, Fr.

Dakari Johnson – Kentucky, C, Fr.

Jabari Brown – Missouri, G, Jr.

Jeronne Maymon – Tennessee, F, Sr.

Jarnell Stokes – Tennessee, F, Jr.

SEC Player of the Year: Julius Randle, Kentucky

Reader comments posted to this article may be published in our print edition. All rights reserved. This copyrighted material may not be re-published without permission. Links are encouraged.

▲ Return to Top