UF's Embree named ITA Player of Year

Published: Wednesday, July 10, 2013 at 2:45 p.m.
Last Modified: Wednesday, July 10, 2013 at 2:45 p.m.

SKILLMAN, N.J. — Florida's Lauren Embree and Virginia's Jarmere Jenkins have been named the 2013 ITA National College Players of the Year, the Intercollegiate Tennis Association announced Wednesday.


Past ITA National Players of the Year

2013 Jarmere Jenkins, Virginia
2012 Steve Johnson, USC
2011 Steve Johnson, USC
2010 Robert Farah, USC
2009 Oleksandr Nedovyesov, Ok. State
2008 Somdev Devvarman, Virginia
2007 Somdev Devvarman, Virginia
2006 Benjamin Kohlloeffel, UCLA
2005 Benedikt Dorsch, Baylor
2004 Benedikt Dorsch, Baylor
2003 Amer Delic, Illinois
2002 Matias Boeker, Georgia
2001 Matias Boeker, Georgia
2000 Alex Kim, Stanford
1999 James Blake, Harvard
1998 Bob Bryan, Stanford
1997 Thomas Dupre, Mississippi State
1996 Cecil Mamiit, USC
1995 Sargis Sargsian, Arizona State
1994 Mark Merklein, Florida
1993 Chris Woodruff, Tennessee
1992 Alex O'Brien, Stanford
1991 Al Parker, Georgia
1990 Steve Bryan, Texas
1989 MaliVai Washington, Michigan
1988 Robbie Weiss, Pepperdine
1987 Richey Reneberg, SMU
1986 Rick Leach, USC
1985 Mikael Pernfors, Georgia
1984 Paul Annacone, Tennessee
1983 Greg Holmes, Utah
1982 Marcel Freeman, UCLA
1981 Tim Mayotte, Stanford
1980 Peter Rennert, Stanford

2013 Lauren Embree, Florida
2012 Nicole Gibbs, Stanford
2011 Jana Juricova, California
2010 Irina Falconi, Georgia Tech
2009 Mallory Cecil, Duke
2008 Amanda McDowell, Ga. Tech
2007 Audra Cohen, Miami (Fla.)
2006 Audra Cohen, Miami (Fla.)
2005 Megan Bradley, Miami (Fla.)
2004 Amber Liu, Stanford
2003 Amber Liu, Stanford
2002 Bea Bielik, Wake Forest
2001 Laura Granville, Stanford
2000 Laura Granville, Stanford
1999 Zuzana Lesenarova, San Diego
1998 Vanessa Webb, Duke
1997 Lilia Osterloh, Stanford
1996 Jill Craybas, Florida
1995 Keri Phebus, UCLA
1994 Angela Lettiere, Georgia
1993 Lisa Raymond, Florida
1992 Lisa Raymond, Florida
1991 Sandra Birch, Stanford
1990 Debbie Graham, Stanford
1989 Tami Whitlinger, Stanford
1988 Halle Cioffi, Florida
1987 Patty Fendick, Stanford
1986 Caroline Kuhlman, USC
1985 Gretchen Rush, Trinity (Texas)
1984 Gretchen Rush, Trinity (Texas)
1983 Beth Herr, USC
1982 Vicki Nelson, Rollins

Embree concluded her four-year career in Gainesville with a lofty 117-16 singles record, including a 26-3 mark during the 2012-13 season, placing her 12th on Florida's all-time career wins list. Embree began her senior campaign in top form, as she claimed the 2012 ITA/Riviera Women's All-American Championships singles title. From there she went on to represent Team USA at the 2012 Master'U BNP Paribas, an eight-team international tournament, guiding the Americans to their third title in the last four years.

In the spring season, Embree led the Gators to their fourth consecutive Southeastern Conference regular season and tournament titles. Her 10-0 mark in the SEC gave her an unblemished 38-0 career singles record in conference play, which earned her SEC Player of the Year distinction for the third time in her career, making her the only player in the conference's storied history to earn the award three times. She was also named the 2013 ITA Senior Player of the Year, becoming the first female player since 2006 to win the award after being named the ITA Rookie of the Year earlier in their career. Embree also earned ITA All-America honors for singles this season, making her a five-time ITA All-American (four singles, one doubles).

Embree's recognition marks the fifth time a Gator has been honored as the ITA National Player of the Year. Jill Craybas was honored in 1996, Lisa Raymond in 1992 and 1993 and Halle Cioffi in 1988.

Jarmere Jenkins capped a phenomenal senior year with a pair of national titles in Illinois but none more memorable than his efforts in guiding Virginia to its first NCAA Team Championship in school history.

The ITA College Player of the Year Awards are given to the male and female singles players who have had the most outstanding year in college tennis. The collegiate players will be honored Saturday in Newport, RI at a special Awards Luncheon during the Rolex Hall of Fame Enshrinement Weekend, and immediately prior to the 2013 International Tennis Hall of Fame Enshrinement Ceremony.

Reader comments posted to this article may be published in our print edition. All rights reserved. This copyrighted material may not be re-published without permission. Links are encouraged.

▲ Return to Top