UF wins All-Sports Trophy

In this Oct. 20, 2012 file photo, Michael Redding, CEO of Halifax Media Group, presents the All Sports award to Florida Athletic Director Jeremy Foley prior to the Gators' 44-11 win against South Carolina at Ben Hill Griffin Stadium.

Rob C. Witzel/Staff photographer
Published: Monday, May 20, 2013 at 12:20 p.m.
Last Modified: Monday, May 20, 2013 at 12:20 p.m.
Florida may not be the best team in every sport, but it is again the king of all sports. As in the All-Sports Trophy. For the 23rd time, the Gator athletic programs have won the award. It is presented by the Halifax Media Group, which owns 31 newspapers including The Gainesville Sun. Florida easily outdistanced second-place Georgia by winning eight SEC titles, which tied the record for most conference championships won. Texas A&M, in its first year as an SEC school, finished third while Tennessee was fourth.

“Obviously, we're very proud of our coaches, our student-athletes and our entire staff,” Florida athletic director Jeremy Foley said. “You know the respect we have for the teams in this league. (The award) is not something we talk a lot about but we take great pride in it. It's not an easy thing to do.” Because of the additions of two schools and an SEC-sanctioned sport (equestrian) with only four teams participating, the Halifax Media Group changed the way the scores are compiled. (No complaining — Florida would have won with the old scoring as well). A program's points total was divided by the total number of teams competing in the sports the school fields and that quotient ranks the teams in the final standings. The sports of cross country, indoor and outdoor track and field are combined. A program's outdoor track finish makes up half, while the remaining two quarters are based on the cross country and indoor finishes. Florida won SEC titles in men's basketball, women's cross country, gymnastics, soccer, softball, men's swimming and diving, women's tennis and volleyball. Florida also won the men's all-sports title for the 17th time and the women's for the 20th time. In the men's competition, Alabama finished second and Georgia third. On the women's side, Tennessee was second and Texas A&M third. Florida swept the three titles for the 13th time and is the only school ever to sweep. The SEC originally compiled the numbers for the award but dropped it in 1994. The New York Times Media Group started giving the award in 1995 until 2011. This is the second year the Halifax Media Group has give the award, which will be presented to UF this fall at a Florida football game.

Halifax Media Group All-Sports Trophy


School Points Teams participating Score
Florida 160.5 222 .7230
Georgia 144 226 .6372
Texas A&M 137 218 .6284
Tennessee 117.5 214 .5491
Arkansas 111.5 212 .5448
LSU 116 222 .5225
Alabama 111.5 222 .5023
South Carolina 104.5 218 .4794
Kentucky 105 222 .4730
Vanderbilt 77.5 178 .4354
Missouri 88.5 209 .4234
Auburn 88.5 226 .3916
Ole Miss 67.5 192 .3516
Miss. State 64.5 192 .3359

Reader comments posted to this article may be published in our print edition. All rights reserved. This copyrighted material may not be re-published without permission. Links are encouraged.

▲ Return to Top