UF professor honored for service to fitness councils

Published: Sunday, May 12, 2013 at 9:19 p.m.
Last Modified: Sunday, May 12, 2013 at 9:19 p.m.

Dr. Ruth Alexander, distinguished professor at the University of Florida, has been honored with a Lifetime Achievement Award by the President’s Council on Fitness, Sports and Nutrition. Alexander, who is retired, was recognized for her years of service on the council, 1974-78, and her continued years working as a clinician. She also served four three-year terms on the Governor’s Council for Physical Fitness and Sports, including serving as chairwoman her last year.

. . .

“Partnerships for Education and a Better Community,” a signature project of the Gainesville Woman’s Club in partnership with local businesses to support Alachua County public schools, recently donated $6,750 for a new playground at Idylwild Elementary School. The Idylwild Elementary School PTA raised $3,000 for playground equipment.

. . .

Alachua County residents Burton D. Burt and Jacob Davis recently graduated from Thomas University in Thomasville, Ga. Burton graduated Summa Cum Laude Bachelor of Arts in liberal studies, and Davis graduated with a Bachelor of Science in criminal justice.

. . .

The Fifth Annual High Springs Rotary Duck Race, held recently at Camp Kulaqua, was a success.

The winners:

First Place: Jerry Kiernan, won $300; Second Place: Dave Moxley of Gainesville, won $100; Third Place: George Rafferty of Gainesville, won $50.

n n n

Students in kindergarten through 12th grade in Alachua County and Marion County schools participated in the Veterans for Peace 2013 Poetry Contest. The winners read their poems at the 2013 Peace Poetry Reading reception held recently at Unitarian Universalist Fellowship of Gainesville. The winning poems will be published in the 2013 Peace Poetry booklet, and the winners will receive a gift certificate to Book Gallery West, a locally owned and operated bookstore in Gainesville.

Winners listed by school include:

J.J. Finley Elementary: Malaqhi Jones, Murdolph Jones, Ashley Wilson, and Julie Waldrop.

Wiles Elementary: Sydney Millinor

C.W. Norton: Viviana Goldstein and Nina Zhang.

Archer Elementary: Caden Kresak

St. Patrick Interparish School: Alex Muse, Nate Englert and Xylie Miller.

Kanapaha Middle School: Summer White, Kayla Barrera and Chris Campo.

Fort Clarke Middle School: Aaron Stutz

Oak Hall Middle School: Peter Acs

Pace Center for Girls: Christina Lauer, Deja Cray, and Ashley Torres.

Newberry High School: Hannah Walker

Eastside High School: Alice Hou, Shaquille Pratt, Shaniqua Donley and Devon Washington.

. . .

Florida Credit Union honors high school graduates with $2,000 Scholarships

Buchholz High School graduating seniors Julia Nycz and Elizabeth Vigotty were each awarded a Servin/Ellis Scholarship, which for 40 years has recognized dedicated and deserving students.

Nycz placed in the top 10 percent of her class and participated in sports, community service and student clubs, including National Technical Honor Society and Future Business Leaders of America. She also served as branch manager for the Bobcat Branch of Florida Credit Union at Buchholz High School.

Vigotty also served as branch manager for the Florida Credit Union Bobcat Branch, while actively participating in Future Business Leaders of America for all four years of high school. Her community service activities included volunteer work for such charities as St. Francis House, Touching Miami with Love, and Christians Concerned for the Community.

Reader comments posted to this article may be published in our print edition. All rights reserved. This copyrighted material may not be re-published without permission. Links are encouraged.

▲ Return to Top