Five nominated for circuit judgeship

Published: Friday, May 10, 2013 at 6:39 p.m.
Last Modified: Friday, May 10, 2013 at 6:39 p.m.

The Eighth Judicial Circuit Judicial Nominating Commission has announced a field of five nominees to fill the vacancy that will be left by the retirement of Judge Martha Ann Lott, currently the circuit's most senior judge.

The nominating commission held public interviews of applicants for the judgeship on Wednesday at the Alachua County Criminal Justice Center located at 220 South Main Street in Gainesville.

From the applicant pool, the commission nominated James M. Bessinger Jr., James M. Colaw, Denise R. Ferrero,. Dean Galigani and Francis T. Williams.

Judge Lott's retirement will be effective May 31.

Reader comments posted to this article may be published in our print edition. All rights reserved. This copyrighted material may not be re-published without permission. Links are encouraged.

▲ Return to Top