UF Research Foundation names 34 professors

Published: Sunday, April 28, 2013 at 7:48 p.m.
Last Modified: Sunday, April 28, 2013 at 7:48 p.m.

The University of Florida Research Foundation recently named 34 faculty members as University of Florida Research Foundation Professors for 2013-16, in recognition of distinguished current record of research and a strong research agenda that is likely to lead to continuing distinction in their fields.

The three-year award includes a $5,000 annual salary supplement and a one-time $3,000 grant. The professorships are funded from the university’s share of royalty and licensing income on UF-generated products.

They are:

Richard Romano, Gunter professor of economics, Warrington College of Business.

Elizabeth Dale, Neikerk professor of history and law, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.

Chris L. Gibson, associate professor of sociology and criminology & law, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.

Connie J. Mulligan, professor of anthropology, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.

Edward Schuur, associate professor of biology, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.

Elizabeth Screaton, professor of geological sciences, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.

Daniel R. Talham, professor of chemistry, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.

Edward K. L. Chan, professor of oral biology, College of Dentistry.

Ian Flood, Holland professor of building construction, College of Design, Construction and Planning.

Kara Dawson, associate professor of teaching and learning, College of Education.

Mingzhou Ding, J. Crayton Pruitt Family professor of biomedical engineering, College of Engineering.

Ghatu Subhash, Millsaps professor of mechanical and aerospace engineering, College of Engineering.

Jiangeng Xue, associate professor of materials science and engineering, College of Engineering.

Glenn Willumson, professor of art history, College of Fine Arts.

David W. Steadman, curator of ornithology, Florida Museum of Natural History.

John O. Spengler, associate professor of tourism, Recreation and Sport Management.

Fredy Altpeter, professor of agronomy, Institute of Food and Agricultural Sciences.

David G. Clark, professor of environmental horticulture, Institute of Food and Agricultural Sciences.

Matias Kirst, associate professor of forest resources and conservation, Institute of Food and Agricultural Sciences.

William E. Pine, associate professor of wildlife ecology and conservation, Institute of Food and Agricultural Sciences.

Max Teplitski, associate professor of soil and water science, Institute of Food and Agricultural Sciences.

Alan L. Wright, associate professor of soil and water science, Institute of Food and Agricultural Sciences.

Sylvia Chan-Olmsted, professor of telecommunication, College of Journalism and Communications.

Yariv Brauner, professor of law, Levin College of Law.

David C. Bloom, professor of molecular genetics and microbiology, College of Medicine.

Jorg Bungert, professor of biochemistry and molecular biology, College of Medicine.

Thomas C. Foster, professor of neuroscience, College of Medicine.

Frederick S. Southwick, professor of medicine, College of Medicine.

Arun Srivastava, Kitzman professor of genetics, College of Medicine.

Robert L. Wears, professor of emergency medicine, College of Medicine.

Donna Felber Neff, associate professor of adult and elderly nursing, College of Nursing.

Julie A. Johnson, Chandran professor of pharmaceutical sciences, College of Pharmacy.

Robert L. Cook, associate professor of epidemiology, College of Public Health and Health Professions.

Donald C. Bolser, professor of physiological sciences, College of Veterinary Medicine.

The University of Florida Research Foundation Professors were recommended by their college deans based on nominations from their department chairs, a personal statement and an evaluation of their recent research accomplishments as evidenced by publications in scholarly journals, external funding, honors and awards, development of intellectual property and other measures appropriate to their field of expertise. In many colleges, this selection process is conducted by a special faculty committee.


Gainesville Fire Rescue recognized outstanding individuals at an annual awards ceremony held recently at the Senior Recreation Center.

A Medal of Valor was presented to Lt. Mike Tringali and firefighter John Dowling for their rescue of a victim following an explosion and fire.

A Chief’s Excellence Award was presented to Cpl. Gary Henagan for his response to a fire, enabling a more effective response and resulting in a building being saved from further damage.

The Donald J. King Mentorship Award, which honors the late Donald J. King, a former Gainesville Fire Rescue chief officer, was presented to Lt. Parnell Jones for his effort both on-duty and off that included the Take-Stock-In-Children program, Brothers-In-Action and participation in career fairs and one-on-one mentorship of fellow firefighters.

The Meritorious Service Award was presented to Gainesville resident Andrew Cone for his rendering aid to a motorist on Feb. 19, 2012.

The Medical Director’s Award for EMS Excellence was presented to paramedic/firefighter Andrew Marsh in recognition of outstanding patient.

Employee of the Year Awards:

Administrative Employee: Executive assistant Kathy Driggers.

Athlete of the Year: Firefighter Wlises Mejia.

Chief Officer: District chief Michael Cowart.

Company Officer: Lt. Sean Campbell.

Dispatcher: Scott Shelpman.

Driver Operator: Jason Powell

EMS Provider: Firefighter David Sutton

Firefighter: Chad Belger

Inspector: Steve Hesson

Instructor: Firefighter Joey Gonzalez

Service Appreciation Awards: Driver operator Calvert Brown, firefighter Jeremy Massicotte, and firefighter Adam Whitehead.

Community Service Award: Lt. Mike Tringali, firefighter Conrade Irving, firefighter Wes McQueen, and risk reduction specialist Krista Gonzalez.

Chief’s Award of Excellence: Lt. Steve Mueller, driver operator Scotty Taylor, firefighter Brett Thomas, firefighter Sean Withers, and supply and equipment specialist James Petty.

Paramedic Certifications: Alex Cowart, Derek Joseph, Wes McQueen,Jamal Hafiz, Joe Morris, Erick Pena, and Scott Robinson.

Continuing Education: Greg Fenn, Jamal Hafiz, Chad Heinz, Alex Lopez, Mike MacKendree, and Alix Thony

New Employees: Staff Specialist Lisa Julseth

Retirements: Firefighter Bill Blair

Reader comments posted to this article may be published in our print edition. All rights reserved. This copyrighted material may not be re-published without permission. Links are encouraged.

▲ Return to Top