Donovan named AP's SEC Coach of Year

Florida coach Billy Donovan smiles at a referee during Sunday's game against the Ole Miss Rebels in the SEC Tournament finals at Bridgestone Arena in Nashville, Tenn. Ole Miss defeated Florida 66-63 to win the tournament championship.

Matt Stamey/Staff photographer
Published: Monday, March 18, 2013 at 3:54 p.m.
Last Modified: Monday, March 18, 2013 at 3:54 p.m.
Florida coach Billy Donovan received more postseason accolades on Monday. Donovan was named the SEC Coach of the Year by the Associated Press in a vote cast by sports writers throughout the conference. Florida senior forward Erik Murphy was named to the All-SEC first team, while UF's four remaining starters— Mike Rosario, Kenny Boynton, Scottie Wilbekin and Patric Young — received honorable mentions.

Donovan led Florida to the regular-season conference title for the fifth time in 17 seasons. Florida fell a game short of an SEC Tournament title with a 66-63 loss to Ole Miss in the finals Sunday in Nashville, Tenn. Per his contract, Donovan will receive a $25,000 bonus for being named AP SEC coach of the year.

Reader comments posted to this article may be published in our print edition. All rights reserved. This copyrighted material may not be re-published without permission. Links are encouraged.

▲ Return to Top