Achievers: Winners in Fine Arts Association show announced

Published: Sunday, March 10, 2013 at 9:42 p.m.
Last Modified: Sunday, March 10, 2013 at 9:42 p.m.

The winners in the Gainesville Fine Arts Association's annual judged Winter Members' Show held recently at Trinity United Methodist Church include: Marion Hylton, Best of Show; Colleen Rand, Award of Excellence; Jane Polkowski, Edith Moore Portrait Award; Duane Ellifrit, Award of Merit; Michael Levy, Award of Merit; Leora King, Barbara Lacy, Roz Miller and Sharon Bartz received Honorable Mention Awards.

■ ■ ■

Megan Lee, a student at St. Francis Catholic High School, received special recognition from Dr. Dan McAlexander, president of LaGrange College, during the college's 2013 Presidential Scholarship Day, an event that honors students who have demonstrated the highest level of academic achievement and leadership.

LaGrange College, a liberal arts and sciences college affiliated with the United Methodist Church, is the oldest private institution of higher learning in Georgia.

■ ■ ■

Gainesville resident Patel Malav, a student at University of California, Los Angeles, recently participated in a 26-hour “Dance Marathon” to raise money and educate people about pediatric HIV and AIDS. Hosted by the Pediatric AIDS Coalition at UCLA and the largest annual collegiate charity event in California, “Dance Marathon” has raised more than $3 million for beneficiaries, such as the Elizabeth Glaser Pediatric AIDS Foundation; Project Kindle, a free camp for children affected by AIDS; and the UCLA AIDS Institute.

■ ■ ■

Serenity Jackson, a student at Stephen Foster Elementary School, has been selected to serve as Leadership Ambassador in the People to People World Leadership Forum to be held this summer in Washington and Philadelphia.

The Leadership Ambassador Program provides an opportunity for students to meet students from more than 140 countries, and to participate in interactive learning activities. People to People Ambassador Programs create global citizens by bridging cultural and political borders through education and exchange.

■ ■ ■

Williston Elementary School safety patrol trainees who recently received their official patrol belts, pins and name tags include: Bridget Barley, Connor Barwick, Juliette Beville, DeAsia Blanchard, Maddie Bond, Nathaniel Carroll-Douglas, Angelina Cochrane, Trentin Crooms, Ashley Ekizian, Josie Hickman, Sherard Joseph, Lowrance Kinsey, Hannah Kortises, Nadia Mendez, A. J. Moore, Nathanial Noland, Magen Osteen, Tyler Roberts, Zander Stanley, Emily Stickney, Jerome Vazquez, Sam White and Alyssa Whitehurst. Newly tapped sergeants include Bridget Barley, Angelina Cochrane, Trentin Crooms and Sherard Joseph. The first patroller to attain captain status is Dnika Appling.

■ ■ ■

First Christian Academy, a ministry of First Baptist Church of High Springs, recently held a Spelling Bee for grades 5-8.

Here are the winners: Michaela Potter, who won for fifth grade, is the daughter of Mike and Shoran Potter; Maggie Zawoy, who won school overall, is the daughter of Scott and Holly Zawoy; and Kaitlyn Petteway, who was runner-up, is the daughter of Kyle and Melody Petteway.

■ ■ ■

First Christian Academy, a ministry of First Baptist Church of High Springs, in the Academic Honor Roll for the second nine weeks of the school year::

“A” honor roll for first grade: Luke Emerson, Karlee Gainey, Brent Lavinder, and Noa Radziminski.

“A/B” honor roll for first grade: Eli Davis, Shay Emerson, Abigail Iams, Aiden Pinkston, Olivia Potts, Katherine Radder, Emily Allen, Madeline Gruenwald, Mason McRae, Michaela Nelson, Abigail Soto and Harley Swilley.

“A” honor roll for second grade: Madison Barrelle, and Riley Yost.

“A/B” honor roll for second grade: Madison Brown, Tyler Cousins, Abigail Daugherty, Sophia Davis and Arabella Rumore.

“A” honor roll for third grade: Caleb Johnson, Ellie Keesling and Jacob Potter.

“A/B” honor roll for third grade: Ashlyn Allen, Zachary Breeken, Ethan Conner, Samantha Cowart, Whitney Davis, Payton Gainey, Matthew Nelson, Evie Newman, Carleigh Newsom, Haley Pyle, Jaedyn Waldron and Jordan Webb.

“A” honor roll for fourth grade: Jacob Baggs, Chesney Brown, Aidan Collins, Allen Friar, Matthew Green, Blake Petteway, Connor Strickland and Cade Vaughn.

“A/B” honor roll for fourth grade: Callie Delaney, Trey DuBose, Anna Mills and Grant Stephens.

“A” honor roll fifth grade: Michaela Potter, Junah Rumore and Reagan Waldron.

“A/B” honor roll fifth grade: Ryan Beasley, Hunter Burnett, Joshua Johnson, Caleb Land, and Jenna Sullivan.

“A” honor roll sixth grade: Ivy Emerson, Emily Keene, Alana Lambert, Tyler Levanduski, Emily Noah, Kaitlyn Petteway, Kayli Sapp and Khylee Tomberlin.

“A/B” honor roll sixth grade: Noah Combs, Peyton Delaney, Maddie Donnelly and Kara Lounsbury.

“A” honor roll seventh grade: Meghan Collins, Jonathan Green and Maggie Zawoy.

“A/B” honor roll for seventh grade: Garrett Barrelle, Marshall Newsome, Josh Ryall and Will Stephens.

“A/B” honor roll for eighth grade: Keegan Flatley, Hunter Johnson and Logan Waldron.

Reader comments posted to this article may be published in our print edition. All rights reserved. This copyrighted material may not be re-published without permission. Links are encouraged.

▲ Return to Top