Four Gators named to All-SEC Freshman team

Dante Fowler Jr. was one of four UF players that made the All-SEC Freshman team.

Doug Finger/Staff photographer
Published: Thursday, December 6, 2012 at 5:45 p.m.
Last Modified: Thursday, December 6, 2012 at 5:45 p.m.

Florida's 2012 recruiting class made significant contributions to the Gators' 11-1 season. On Thursday, four freshmen from the class were honored by the SEC.

Offensive tackle D.J. Humphries, linebacker Antonio Morrison, defensive end Jonathan Bullard and Buck end/linebacker Dante Fowler Jr. were named to the All-SEC Freshman team that was selected by the league coaches.

UF, Texas A&M and Alabama tied for the most players on the team with four each.

The four UF freshmen combined to start eight games for the Gators this season.

Morrison, an early enrollee, produced one of the biggest defensive plays of the season for UF. His big hit and forced fumble on FSU quarterback EJ Manuel in the fourth quarter turned the game around, sparking the Gators' 37-26 win in Tallahassee less than two weeks ago. The victory secured UF a spot in the BCS (Sugar Bowl).

Morrison started two games in place of the injured Jelani Jenkins at outside linebacker. With Jenkins recovering from foot surgery, Morrison is expected to start the Sugar Bowl.

Humphries started three games this season and was part of UF's jumbo package that helped the Gators have success on the ground in key victories, including the win over LSU.

Bullard started two games and Fowler one.

Bullard led the Gators in quarterback hurries with seven. He also recorded 2.5 sacks and 26 tackles.

Fowler had 6.5 tackles for loss and recorded 2.5 sacks.

Also on Thursday, three Gators — junior safety Matt Elam, junior defensive tackle Sharrif Floyd and senior place-kicker Caleb Sturgis — were named to the Sporting News' All-America team. It is the first time since 2009 that UF has had three players earn All-America recognition.

Earlier this week, Elam was named a first-team All-American by

Elam and sophomore punter Kyle Christy were also named to the Walter Camp All America Second Team Defense on Thursday. The last Gator punter to earn the honor was Chas Henry in 2010, and the last time for a UF safety was in 2006 when Reggie Nelson made first-team defense.

Reader comments posted to this article may be published in our print edition. All rights reserved. This copyrighted material may not be re-published without permission. Links are encouraged.

▲ Return to Top