SEC coaches honor Muschamp, Sturgis

Will Muschamp became the first Florida coach since Steve Spurrier in 1996 to be honored as the SEC's top coach.

Rob C. Witzel/Staff photographer
Published: Wednesday, December 5, 2012 at 3:41 p.m.
Last Modified: Wednesday, December 5, 2012 at 3:41 p.m.

Will Muschamp's coaching peers in the SEC obviously are impressed with what he's done in his second season at Florida. They voted him co-coach of the year in the conference, the SEC revealed Wednesday. He shares the honor with first-year Texas A&M coach Kevin Sumlin.

The SEC also announced that Florida place-kicker Caleb Sturgis is the co-special teams player of the year, along with South Carolina kick returner Ace Sanders.

After going 7-6 in his first season at Florida, Muschamp and the Gators rebounded in a big way in 2012, winning 11 of 12 games and earning a berth in a BCS Bowl (Sugar). He is the first UF coach to be honored as coach of the year in the SEC since Steve Spurrier in 1996. Sumlin led the Aggies to a 10-2 season in his first year in the SEC.

En route to becoming UF's all-time field goals leader, Sturgis, a senior from St. Augustine, made 23 of 27 attempts this season and led the Gators in scoring with 101 points.

In the league's other individual awards voted on by the coaches, Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel is the offensive player of the year, while the defensive player of the year is South Carolina defensive end Jadeveon Clowney.

Reader comments posted to this article may be published in our print edition. All rights reserved. This copyrighted material may not be re-published without permission. Links are encouraged.

▲ Return to Top