UF's Quinn award finalist

Florida defensive coordinator Dan Quinn is a finalist for the Broyles Award.

Matt Stamey/Staff photographer
Published: Tuesday, November 27, 2012 at 12:23 p.m.
Last Modified: Tuesday, November 27, 2012 at 12:23 p.m.

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. — The finalists for the Broyles Award have been announced and they include the defensive coordinator from Florida, which is headed toward a BCS bowl.

The finalists were announced Monday for the award that honors the top assistant coach in nation.

Three finalists are defensive coordinators, including Florida's Dan Quinn, Notre Dame's Bob Diaco and Stanford's Derek Mason. The other nominees are offensive coordinators Kliff Kingsbury of Texas A&M and Mike Bobo of Georgia.

Quinn has led the Gators defensive unit to prominence this season. UF ranks third nationally allowing just 12.9 points per game, the lowest in school history since 1964. The defense ranks third in rushing yards allowed (96.58) and fifth in total yards allowed (282.6). Florida ranks first in the country in pass efficiency defense (91.50) and has forced 29 turnovers, tying for fifth nationally in turnover margin (+17). UF has allowed just five passing touchdowns this season, the second-fewest in the nation.

Little Rock's Rotary Club will present the award, named for former Arkansas coach Frank Broyles, on Dec. 4.

The 2011 Broyles Award winner was LSU defensive coordinator John Chavis.

Reader comments posted to this article may be published in our print edition. All rights reserved. This copyrighted material may not be re-published without permission. Links are encouraged.

▲ Return to Top