Eastside's fledgling chefs gobble up scholarships

Published: Sunday, July 1, 2012 at 9:15 p.m.
Last Modified: Sunday, July 1, 2012 at 9:15 p.m.

Eastside High School's Institute of Culinary Arts students earned substantial scholarships during the 2011-12 school year from Johnson and Wales University, the Culinary Institute of America and the International Culinary Schools of the Arts. In addition, McDonald's of Gainesville provided $13,000 in scholarships.

The recipients included Mariyanna Knight, $50,500; Elizabeth Turner, $50,000; Holli Manche, $44,000, Kiana Reed, $43,500; Darrious Camel, $43,000; Sara Walters, $40,200; Abby Gilkey, $34,500; Mike Hill, $34,000; Alisha Clayton, $15,000; Shanellis Vilaneuava, $8,000; Antron Thurman, $5,500; Braniesia Markam, $5,200; Jacobi Hart, $5,000; Jade Reynolds, $5,000; Raheem Herbert, $4,000; and Sara Smith, $200.

The Eastside High School Culinary Arts Program is designed to teach high school students the management skills needed for a career in the restaurant and hospitality industry. The program is fast-paced and involves many areas, including a student-run restaurant, bakery and catering service.

■ ■ ■

Foodservice Consultants Society International-The Americas recently recognized the following top performers: Char Norton and Ruby Puckett, Foodservice Consultants Society International's Council of Fellows; Eric Norman, FCSI Worldwide Service Award; Paul Barron, FCSI The Americas Trendsetter Award; Mike Redlin, CSI The Americas Service Award; Feeding America, Bob Pacifico Award; The Foodservice Technology Center, FCSI The Americas Green Award; RPI Industries' Hussman Environmental Management System, FCSI Product of the Year.

For more information, visit fcsi.org/?page=TALanding.

■ ■ ■

Partnership for Strong Families recognized foster parents in Circuits 3 and 8 with awards during appreciation banquets held in Lake City and Gainesville as part of National Foster Care Month.

Family Connections Award: Cammey and Adam Hinton, and Soledad Fedor; Model Parent Award, Kristen and Jared Kirby, and Jacqueline Miles; Supporting Educational Needs Award, Yolanda Turner and Alma McIntyre; Normalcy Award, Peggy and Mark Myer, and Felicia Clayton; Health and Well Being Award, Virgil and Jeanette Carter, and Sabrina Nelson.

Circuit 3 includes Columbia, Dixie, Hamilton, Lafayette, Madison, Suwannee and Taylor counties, while Circuit 8 includes Alachua, Baker, Bradford, Gilchrist, Levy and Union counties.

■ ■ ■

Gainesville resident April Hines has been selected from a pool of more than 300 teachers in grades K-12 to participate in the Library of Congress Teaching with Primary Sources Summer Teacher Institute in Washington.

The Library of Congress is the nation's oldest federal cultural institution. Many of the Library's resources and treasures may be accessed through the library's website at loc.gov.

■ ■ ■

Rozalyn Crews graduated with a Bachelor of Arts degree in anthropology from New College of Florida in Sarasota. Crews, who is the daughter of Suzanne and Pat Crews of Gainesville, attended Gainesville High School.

■ ■ ■

Kasha Killingsworth, who recently graduated from the Eastside High School IB Program, is a Hispanic National Merit Scholar and recipient of the Presidential Scholarship for the honors program at Virginia Commonwealth University. She is the daughter of Kurt and Anna Killingsworth.

■ ■ ■

Oak Hall School was one of 16 schools awarded the FHSAA/Fred E. Rozelle Sportsmanship Award by the Florida High School Athletic Association. The school received a $500 award.

The award, established during the 1990-91 school year and named in honor of FHSAA Commissioner Emeritus Fred E. Rozelle, goes to schools with athletic teams that demonstrated exemplary sportsmanship during the 2011-12 regular season and FHSAA State Series.

Reader comments posted to this article may be published in our print edition. All rights reserved. This copyrighted material may not be re-published without permission. Links are encouraged.

▲ Return to Top