Sun All-Area Girls Basketball Teams

Published: Friday, April 1, 2011 at 6:01 a.m.
Last Modified: Saturday, April 2, 2011 at 12:21 a.m.


First team

Guard: Jessica Goble, 5-9, Sr., Buchholz, 17.0 ppg., 5.0 apg., 4.0 rpg. for state semifinalist

Guard: Jessica Thomas, 5-7, So., Buchholz, 11.0 ppg., 4.0 apg., 2.0 rpg. for state semifinalist

Guard: Anbreyal Stewart, 5-7, Sr., Union County, 23.8 ppg., 7.2 rbg., 2.3 spg.

Forward: Deja McPhee, 5-9, So., Gainesville, 11.2 ppg., 9.7 rpg., 2.1 spg. for regional semifinalist

Forward: Lonna Turner, 5-11, Sr., Eastside, 7.8 ppg., 8.3 rpg. for regional semifinalist

Center: Kayla Bivins, 5-11, Jr., Gainesville, 10.5 ppg., 10.6 rpg., 1.6 spg for regional semifinalist

Second team

Guard: Kyla Lovett, 5-6, So., Gainesville, 10.4 ppg., 3.2 apg., 3.2 spg. for regional semifinalist

Guard: Onteria Maddox, 5-4, Jr., Buchholz, 10.0 ppg., 2.0 apg., 2.0 rpg. for state semifinalist

Guard: Ashlee Bryant, 5-5, Sr., Eastside, 11 ppg., 5.0 apg., 2.1 spg. for regional semifinalist

Guard: Tatiyana Thomas, 5-8, Sr., Suwannee, 18.0 ppg., 3.5 rpg., 3.5 apg., 2.8 spg. for playoff team

Guard-forward: Lakia Bright, 5-10, So., Bradford, 14.2 ppg., 7.0 rpg., 2.6 apg. for playoff team

Forward: Mariah Harris, 5-11, Jr., Buchholz, 10.0 ppg., 13 rpg. for state semifinalist

Honorable mention

Buchholz: Kimberly Sinistera (C, Jr.), Ebonee Frazier (F, Sr.); Eastside: Whitney Dollison (F, Sr.); Fort White: Dee Armstrong (F, Sr.); Gainesville: Marrisa Lee (G, So.), Sarena Humphrey (G, Sr.); Santa Fe: Kaitlian Deustch (G, Sr.), Skye Wakeley (G, Sr.), Melissa Green (C, Sr.), Kyle Snead (F, Sr.); Suwannee: Hope Chambers (C, Sr.), Kristiana Evans (F, Sr.); Union County: Teyona Jenkins (G, So.)

Coach of the Year: Rebecca Williams, Buchholz

Williams led the Bobcats to a 27-6 record and berth to their first FHSAA state tournament since 2000 after beating Fort Walton Beach on the road in the Class 5A, Region 1 final. The win avenged three straight years of falling in the regional final. Buchholz lost to state champion Fort Lauderdale Dillard in the 5A state semifinals, 60-54. Gainesville coach David Gordon was also a finalist for this award.


First team

Guard: Cartaesha Macklin, 5-5, Sr., Lafayette, 29.2 ppg., 12.7 rpg., 4.7 apg. for state semifinalist

Guard: Niya Johnson, 5-9, Jr., P.K. Yonge, 23.0 ppg., 7.0 apg., 4.0 rpg., 2.0 spg. for regional finalist

Guard: Rhoda Reid, 5-5, Jr., Lafayette, 15.3 ppg., 5.2 rpg., 2.5 apg. for state semifinalist

Forward: Paulina Zaveckaite, 6-2, Sr., The Rock, 15.4 ppg., 11.2 rpg. for National Association of Christian Athletes Division 1A national champions

Forward-center: Viktorija Dimaite, 6-4, Sr., The Rock, 15.5 ppg., 8.7 rpg., 1.8 bpg., 1.3 apg. for NACA Division 1A national champions and future Gator

Center: Aariel Allen, 6-0, Jr., P.K. Yonge, 10.0 ppg., 6.0 rpg., 1.0 bpg., for regional finalist

Second team

Guard: Ezra Wallace, 5-6, Sr., St. Francis, 15.2 ppg., 5.5 rpg., 3.8 spg.

Guard: Olivia Bailey, 5-8, So., Bell, 17.6 ppg., 4.6 rpg., 3.8 apg.

Guard: Taylor Tomlinson, 5-5, Fr., Oak Hall, 9.1 ppg., 4.2 spg., 2.8 apg. for regional finalist

Forward: Emily Van Gelder, 5-7, Jr., Oak Hall, 9.0 ppg., 5.28 rpg. for regional finalist

Forward: Kandice Dixon, 5-8, Sr., P.K. Yonge, 4.0 ppg., 7.0 rbg., 3.0 spg. for regional finalist

Center: Mariah Carter, 6-0, So., Hawthorne, 10.0 ppg., 15 rpg., 5 bpg. for playoff team

Honorable mention

Bell: Samantha Bruce (G, Jr.), Reilee Moore (F, Jr.), Preslee Sanders (G, Jr.); Branford: Stephanie Copeland (G, Fr.); Chiefland: Dessie Clemons (G, Jr.), Haile Hammond (C, So.), Amber Richardson (F, Sr.), Charlene Davis (G, Sr.), Amber Depew (F, Jr.), Kidijah Bowers (F, Jr.), Shyricca Bowers (F, So.), LeaShae Blaisdell (G, So.); Cornerstone: Kelly Wing (G, Jr.); Dixie County: Te’keya Clark (G, Sr.); Hawthorne: Jailyn McGruder (G, So.), Kimesha Mann (G, 7th), Whitney Taylor (F/C, Sr.); Lafayette: Shaqueta Brown (F, Jr.), Bridgett Powe (F, Sr.), Elizabeth Anderson (G, Jr.), Bre Massey (G, So.); Oak Hall: Madison O’Leary (G, Fr.), Ashley Cohrs (G, Fr.), Haley Birkle (G/F, Jr.), Erin Euliano (G, Fr.); P.K. Yonge: Kandice Dixon (F, Sr.); St. Francis: Felicia Fallo (G, So.), Megan Wray (G, So.), Katrina Lagos (F, So.), Ann Lorrayne Bzoch (F, Fr.); Trenton: Hannah Buckler (G, Jr.), Breanna Stalvey (G, Jr.)

Coach of the Year: Jimmy Blankenship, Lafayette

Blankenship led the Hornets (17-12) to their second straight FHSAA Class 2A state tournament and third in the last four years, losing to Sagemont in the state semifinals. Lafayette has won eight straight district championships and 10 of the last 11 years, all under Blankenship. Oak Hall’s Eric Ringdahl and P.K. Yonge’s Willie Powers were also finalists.

Reader comments posted to this article may be published in our print edition. All rights reserved. This copyrighted material may not be re-published without permission. Links are encouraged.

▲ Return to Top