Florida QB commit Driskel named national player of the year

Published: Tuesday, January 4, 2011 at 1:28 p.m.
Last Modified: Tuesday, January 4, 2011 at 2:35 p.m.

Florida commitment Jeff Driskel, from Hagerty High School in Oviedo, Fla., was named the 2010 Maxwell Football Club's National High School Player of the Year on Tuesday.

Driskel, 6-foot-4 and 230 pounds, threw for a career 4,844 yards passing and 36 touchdowns. He was also responsible for leading the Huskies to their first winning season in just their fourth year as a varsity football program.

This past season, Driskel accounted for 80 percent of his team's offense, amassing almost 500 yards of total offense in the Huskies' first-round Class 5A state playoff game against Lakeland.

Driskel finished his senior season completing 138 of 235 passes for 1,819 yards and 15 touchdowns, rushing for 1,333 yards and 20 touchdowns. He also caught two passes, both for touchdowns, for 138 yards.

“Jeff's performance against Lakeland was the greatest single-game performance I have ever seen in my 20-plus years of remembering high school football,” said Hagerty head coach Nate Gierke. “Jeff led our team to the most wins in school history and a playoff appearance in only our fourth year of existence.

"For what he has done over the past four years, and especially for his performance and what he meant to our success this season, Jeff is the best high school football player I have ever coached or seen in person.”

Driskel's 2010 season performance earned him FACA District 9 Class 5A Player of the Year, Gatorade Florida Player of the Year and a selection to this week's Under Armour All-America game in Orlando.

“I'm excited to receive this honor,” Driskel said. “It's a prestigious award and to be named national player of the year is awesome.

"There are all kinds of people I'd like to thank who have given me help to get here, from my parents, to the coaches I've had, to my teachers, and it's great to know that all of the hard work that I've put in throughout my whole high school career has been recognized.

"But I think I'm most proud of my team. We never had a winning record, or were even close to a winning record before this year, and this team worked hard all summer to achieve a goal we set.”

Driskel joins previous Maxwell Football Club National High School Players of the Year, future Gator teammate Sharrif Floyd (2009 George Washington, Philadelphia, Penn.), Oklahoma's Jamarkus McFarland (2008 Lufkin, Lufkin, Texas) and Ohio State's DeVier Posey (2007 LaSalle, Cincinnati, Ohio).

Driskel will be presented with the award at the Maxwell Football Club's National Awards Dinner which will be held on March 4 in Atlantic City, N.J.

Reader comments posted to this article may be published in our print edition. All rights reserved. This copyrighted material may not be re-published without permission. Links are encouraged.

▲ Return to Top