Tebow receives honor at ESPYs

Published: Wednesday, July 16, 2008 at 6:01 a.m.
Last Modified: Thursday, July 17, 2008 at 12:05 a.m.

LOS ANGELES Florida quarterback Tim Tebow beat out Kansas State's Michael Beasley and North Carolina's Tyler Hansbrough for the top male college athlete at the ESPY Awards on Wednesday night.

Tim Tebow
Enlarge |
Tim Tebow

UF quarterback Tim Tebow arrives at the ESPY Awards on Wednesday in Los Angeles.

The Associated Press

"It is an honor to be at an event with many of the people I've grown up watching and respecting, said Tebow. I accept this award on behalf of my coaches and teammates. The fact that this award is based on fan voting makes it all the more special. I've always appreciated the support I've received from the fans and the Gator Nation."

Tebow is the second Florida football player to take home an ESPY as former UF quarterback and Heisman Trophy winner Danny Wuerffel was chosen as the Best Male College Football Player in 1997.

The Jacksonville native earned the award after completing a record-breaking sophomore season. The only sophomore in history to take home the Heisman Trophy and Maxwell Award, Tebow also became the first player in NCAA history to pass and rush for over 20 touchdowns in a season. The SEC Male Athlete of the Year also set a new standard in single-season touchdown accountability in the SEC, totaling 55 (32 passing, 23 rushing).

The ESPY Awards, in its 16th year, honor the best in sports and celebrate the best sports stories of the year. The award show will air on ESPN on Sunday, July 20 at 9 p.m. ET.

Reader comments posted to this article may be published in our print edition. All rights reserved. This copyrighted material may not be re-published without permission. Links are encouraged.

Comments are currently unavailable on this article

▲ Return to Top