Layton gets scholarship

Published: Tuesday, January 11, 2005 at 6:01 a.m.
Last Modified: Monday, January 10, 2005 at 10:07 p.m.
  • Beth Layton, deputy director of the Health Science Center Libraries, was awarded a leadership scholarship to attend the Association of College & Research Libraries/Harvard Leadership Institute for Academic Librarians in Cambridge, Mass.
    In addition, Layton has been named a fellow for the 2004-2005 class of the Leadership Fellows Program. The program, now in its third year, prepares emerging leaders for director positions in academic health center libraries.

    Rhine honored

  • Lenny Rhine, collection management librarian of the Health Science Center Libraries, was honored at the Medical Library Association 2004 annual conference by the International Cooperation Section.
    In addition, Dr. Rhine has been granted an honorary faculty position at the School of Health Science at the University San Francisco de Quito in Ecuador for his support on behalf of Ecuadorian medical education.

    Poster wins contest

  • The Health Science Center Libraries received first place in the Medical Library Association's 2004 Creative Promotions contest for the "RxEAD: Prescription for Knowledge" campaign.
    The campaign's goal was to raise the visibility of the libraries by displaying large posters and bookmarks of health science center deans and program heads posing with their favorite books.
    The campaign continued throughout the year and recently added UF President Bernie Machen to its collection.

    Dockery gets award

  • Dr. J. Lee Dockery, of Gainesville, professor emeritus in the College of Medicine, was presented the Distinguished Service Award by the Southern Medical Association at its annual scientific assembly held in November.
    Dr. Dockery also is a past president of the association, and currently serves as permanent trustee of the McKnight Brain Research Foundation.

    Collins is president

  • Mary Collins, a professor of environmental pedology in the Soil and Water Science Department of IFAS, has been chosen the first woman president of the Soil Science Society of America.
    Collins has served as an officer in the International Union of Soil Science as well as a member of the National Academies/National Committee for Soil Science.
    She also is a fellow in both the American Society of Agronomy and the soil society.
  • Reader comments posted to this article may be published in our print edition. All rights reserved. This copyrighted material may not be re-published without permission. Links are encouraged.

    Comments are currently unavailable on this article

    ▲ Return to Top