Meyer gets football writers' coach of year award

Published: Sunday, January 2, 2005 at 7:54 a.m.
Last Modified: Sunday, January 2, 2005 at 7:54 a.m.

TEMPE, Ariz. - Utah's Urban Meyer received the Football Writers Association/Eddie Robinson coach of the year award Saturday after leading the Utes to a 12-0 season.

Enlarge |

Utah head coach Urban Meyer coaches his team against Pittsburgh in the second half at the Fiesta Bowl, Saturday, Jan. 1, 2005, in Tempe, Ariz. Utah won, 35-7.

AP Photo/Matt York

The honor was announced during the Utes' 35-7 victory over Pittsburgh in the Fiesta Bowl, the final piece in Utah's first perfect season since 1930.

The other finalists for the award _ first presented in 1957 to Ohio State's Woody Hayes _ were Southern California's Pete Carroll, Tommy Tuberville of Auburn, Mike Price of Texas-El Paso, Iowa's Kirk Ferentz and California coach Jeff Tedford.

Meyer was 22-2 at Utah and guided the Utes to the first Bowl Championship Series game for a team from a conference without an automatic BCS berth.

Saturday's game was Meyer's last with the Utes. He was hired by Florida to replace the fired Ron Zook, but was allowed to coach Utah one last time.

Meyer will be presented with the award Sept. 3 in his Florida debut when the Gators host Wyoming.

Reader comments posted to this article may be published in our print edition. All rights reserved. This copyrighted material may not be re-published without permission. Links are encouraged.

Comments are currently unavailable on this article

▲ Return to Top