Buchholz, Lincoln win math contests

Published: Thursday, April 1, 2004 at 6:01 a.m.
Last Modified: Wednesday, March 31, 2004 at 10:33 p.m.

More than 300 middle and high school students came together recently to compete in the Region 2 Mu Alpha Theta Competition hosted by Spruce Creek High School in Port Orange. Region 2 consists of all of the top math teams in north and northeast Florida.

The competition consisted of five divisions: algebra 1, algebra 2, geometry, precalculus and calculus. Buchholz math students took 26 of the 40 individual trophies awarded in the high school divisions. The next best school won five.

Buchholz's A and B teams took first and second place in both Geometry and Calculus Team Divisions. Placing in the top 10 individually for geometry were John Kunemund (first), Aaron Griffith (second), Kevin Tierney (third), Greg Hutchings (fourth), Alex Payne (fifth), Jessi Shroads (sixth), Joey Wong (seventh) and Melissa Carnall (eighth).

Top 10 individuals for calculus were Peter Kim (first), Marc Moody (second), Alan Parham (fourth), Aaron Wysocki (fifth), Cody Smith (seventh) and Jimmy Anders (eighth).

Buchholz's winning Precalculus Team was led by Danny O'Donnell (second), Michelle Congdon (fourth), Trevor Yocum (ninth) and Thomas Parks (10th).

Lincoln Middle School took home first place in the Algebra 1 and Algebra 2 Team Divisions. Their winning Algebra 2 Team consisted of Jonathan Mei (first), Jimmy Wong (fourth), Christina Ren (sixth) and Sue Zheng (seventh).

Leading Buchholz to a second place finish in the Algebra 2 Team competition were Victor Chou (third), Lei Lu (fifth), Daniel Umpleby (ninth) and Courtney Sanford (10th).

The individual competition in the Algebra 1 Division was won by Conrad Chou (Westwood). Leading Lincoln in Algebra 1 was Tony Wu (third), Louie Wu (fourth), Roulin Hou (sixth), Jenny Xiang (seventh) and Kevin Fan (eighth).

The Buchholz coaches are Dinah Stone (calculus), Ziwei Lu (precalculus) and Will Frazer (algebra 2 and geometry). The coaches for Lincoln Middle are Linda Byrd (algebra 1 ) and Will Frazer (algebra 2).

The Buchholz Math Team will be competing for the state championship April 16-17 in Orlando.

Mu Alpha Theta is a national math honor society created to promote competition and student interest in mathematics.

Reader comments posted to this article may be published in our print edition. All rights reserved. This copyrighted material may not be re-published without permission. Links are encouraged.

Comments are currently unavailable on this article

▲ Return to Top